Thursday, July 16th, 2015

Rapids Name 13 Strong Squad For Battle Under Lights With The Falcons

Rapids Name 13 Strong Squad For Battle Under Lights With The Falcons

Worcestershire Rapids Director of Cricket Steve Rhodes has named a 13 strong squad for the NatWest T20 Blast clash with Derbyshire Falcons at the 3aaa County Ground tomorrow evening under floodlights.

Rhodes has selected the 11 players who overcame Yorkshire Vikings on Tuesday plus Joe Clarke and Charlie Morris.

The Rapids will be bidding for a sixth successive away win in the competition after triumphs away to Northants, Durham, Lancs, Notts and Yorks.

They require one more point to make absolutely sure of a quarter-final spot although they have a vastly superior run rate to Notts Outlaws which makes them odds on to qualify even on 16 points.

Rhodes said: "Derbyshire beat Yorkshire quite comfortably and I looked at some of the footage and thought they looked quite a good side.

"I know Moeen had a fantastic game against them at home but we will be respecting them definitely because they can be a dangerous team.

"I know they've not had the best of seasons in T20 cricket but this team (Rapids) won't get too big for its boots because I'll make sure we don't.

"We'll give a lot of respect to Derby but we'll certainly go out there and try and win."

Rapids (from):

Richard Oliver

Daryl Mitchell

Tom Kohler-Cadmore

Colin Munro

Brett D'Oliveira

Ross Whiteley

Ben Cox

Joe Leach

Ed Barnard

Jack Shantry

Saeed Ajmal

Joe Clarke

Charlie Morris