Thursday, February 11th, 2016

County Signing Abbott Is Part Of Proteas World T20 Squad

County Signing Abbott Is Part Of Proteas World T20 Squad

Worcestershire 2016 overseas signing Kyle Abbott has been included in South Africa's squad for the forthcoming ICC World T20 tournament in India.

Abbott is looking forward to his first World T20 as part of an attack which also includes Dale Steyn – subject to regaining full fitness – and Kagiso Rabada but not Morne Morkel.

The 28-year-old made his T20I debut in 2013 but was not part of the squad for the 2014 World T20 in Bangladesh.

Abbott, who will join up with Worcestershire in early July for the remainder of the season, has played in 14 T20Is and picked up 13 wickets at 28.33 runs apiece with an economy rate of 7.94.

His last T20 appearance for his country was against India in Cuttack in October.

Abbott will again do battle with Worcestershire all-rounder Moeen Ali as England are in the same group as South Africa along with West Indies, Sri Lanka and a qualifying nation.

The pair have been in opposition in the recent Test series and then the current ODI matches and the forthcoming T20I contests.

Russell Domingo, South Africa's head coach, hopes South Africa can build some momentum ahead of the World T20 with their performances against England and Australia.

He said: ""We take some confidence from our T20 series wins against Bangladesh and India and have kept relatively the same players who have had success on the sub-continent.

"We have been playing good T20 cricket of late and this is our opportunity to showcase our skills at a World event.

"The upcoming T20 series' against England and Australia will be the ideal platform for us to fine-tune some combinations and to hopefully gain some winning confidence ahead of the tournament next month.

"We are in a tough group in the tournament with England, West Indies, Sri Lanka and a qualifier. All of the top six teams on the world rankings have the skill and ability to lift the trophy so it's a completely open competition with high stakes."

South Africa squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Chris Morris, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn, David Wiese.