Monday, April 4th, 2022


Worcestershire CCC Academy will launch their 2022 programme on Wednesday (April 6) with a 50 over friendly encounter with local rivals Warwickshire at Kidderminster CC (11am start).

This summer, the Academy (Under-18s) will be competing in a trio of ECB competitions comprising 12 T20 matches, five three-day games, and the 50 over knockout competition.

But ahead of those, they will be in Birmingham Premier League Graham Williamson Trophy action this Saturday when they travel to take on newly-promoted Premier Division One side, Halesowen.

Academy Coach, Elliot Wilson, said: “We’ve got the programme that we wanted to put in place. 

“A nice amount of cricket early season during the Easter holidays and either side, a window for a National T20 competition where we play six competitive days of T20 cricket.

“We’d basically got six National T20 competition games to actually play, and the six counties decided to create a structure where we would play more cricket but on the same days. 

“Rather than just have six games of cricket where we would play one game, we’ve created a structure where got six days of cricket but playing two games on each day.

“We are also playing all of the Worcestershire based Birmingham League sides in evening T20 games as extra match practice, playing against men, and what I always wanted to do was connect with all of the Birmingham League clubs that are in Worcestershire.

“We end the season with five three-day games in a County Championship competition as well. We’ve got some good cricket to be played. 

“The pleasing thing about May is that we’ve got a lot of T20 cricket to play, then in June the guys will go off to do their academic stuff, and then in August we are preparing for a real big block of three-day cricket.”

Included in the Academy squad for the game against Warwickshire is spinner Josh Dickenson, who spent 12 weeks this winter with the Gary Kirsten Academy in South Africa.

Joe Stanley will skipper the side with Luke Powell keeping wicket.



6 Warks Venue Kidderminster F

9 Halesowen Halesowen CC GWT

10 Barnt Green Barnt Green F T20

13 Millfield School Shrewsbury School

14 Shrewsbury School Shrewsbury School

15 Worksop College Shrewsbury School

20 Herefordshire Kidderminster F

21 Shropshire Kidderminster F


3 Warks Barnt Green F T20 x 2 

5 Bromsgrove Bromsgrove CC F T20

8 Gloucs and Wales Hawkesbury ECB NT20

12 Barnards Green Barnards Green CC F T20

15 Wales and Somerset Barnt Green ECB NT20

18 Himley Himley CC F T20

22 Warks and Somerset Barnt Green ECB NT20

29 Northants and Gloucs Oundle School ECB NT20

31 Wales and Gloucs Stourport ECB NT20


2 Wales and Warks Port Talbot ECB NT20


3 Salop Venue TBC ECB N50 Round Two

14 London School Finchley F

20 London School Barnt Green F

26,27,28 Northants Kidderminster ECB CC


2,3,4 Wales Abergavenny ECB CC

9 Staffs Under-21s Kidderminster F

10,11 Salop Venue TBC F

16,17,18 Gloucs Stourbridge ECB CC

23,24,25 Somerset Taunton Vale ECB CC

30,31, September 1 Warks Barnt Green ECB CC


  1. Jack Home
  2. Ismail Mohammed
  3. Myles Holland
  4. Callum Bennett
  5. Ben Balderson
  6. Luke Young
  7. Ben Clarke
  8. Luke Powell (w)
  9. Josh Dickenson
  10. Joe Stanley ©
  11. Haris Ajaz
  12. Gohar Nisar
  13. Ben Clements