Monday, September 4th, 2017

Worcs Star Moeen Rested For T20I But Named In Squad For Odi Series

Moeen Ali will be rested by England for the solitary NatWest T20 match against the West Indies at the Emirates Riverside, Durham on Saturday, September 16.

The Worcestershire all-rounder – and Ben Stokes – are not included in the 14 strong squad.

Sam Billings, Mason Crane, Liam Livingstone, Craig Overton and Mark Wood all miss out from the squad that was selected for the series against South Africa earlier this summer.

But Moeen will return for the five match Royal London ODI Series that follows until its conclusion under lights at the Ageas Bowl on September 29.

Moeen has enjoyed a successful but hectic summer with bat and ball against South Africa and the West Indies in the two Test Series.

In respect of the ODI squad, Billings, Steven Finn and Wood are not selected, having been part of the ICC Champions Trophy squad in June.

The England 14-man squad versus West Indies in the Royal London ODI Series is:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (Capt.)

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire)

Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire)

Jos Buttler (Lancashire)

Tom Curran (Surrey)

Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)

Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire)

Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)

Joe Root (Yorkshire)

Jason Roy (Surrey)

Ben Stokes (Durham)

David Willey (Yorkshire)

Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)


NatWest IT20

Saturday September 16 vs West Indies, Emirates, Riverside, Durham (6.30pm start)
Royal London ODI Series

1st ODI, Tuesday September 19 vs West Indies, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester (12.30pm start)

2nd ODI, Tuesday September 21 vs West Indies, Trent Bridge, Nottingham (12.30pm start)

3rd ODI, Sunday September 24 vs West Indies, The Brightside County Ground, Bristol (11.00am start)

4th ODI, Wednesday September 27 vs West Indies, Kia Oval, London (12.30pm start)

5th ODI, Friday September 29 vs West Indies, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton (12.30pm start)