Saturday, July 11th, 2015

Worcs Star Moeen Picks Up Three More Wickets To Help England To Victory

Worcs Star Moeen Picks Up Three More Wickets To Help England To Victory

Moeen Ali completed a fine all-round match with three wickets on the final day as England overcame Australia by 169 runs to win the first Investec Test at the SWALEC Stadium with more than a day to spare.

The Worcestershire all-rounder claimed the scalps of David Warner, Bradd Haddin and last man Josh Hazlewood as the Aussies were bowled out for 242 in 70.3 overs in their second innings.

Moeen finished with figures of 3-59 from 16.3 overs – and match figures of 5-130 from 31.3 overs after dismissing Steve Smith and Michael Clarke in the first innings.

In addition he also weighed in with 92 runs batting at number eight including the second top score of 77 in England's first innings.

It was the perfect reply to Moeen after his place had been under the spotlight in some sections of the media in the build-up to the game.

Australia began their second innings needing an unlikely 411 to win and it was Moeen who removed the dangerman Warner on the stroke of lunch.

He had made 52 off 86 balls but was trapped lbw by Moeen with a delivery which Hawkeye showed to be going on to hit leg stump with Australia then 97-2.

Moeen struck for the second time when wicket-keeper Brad Haddin (7) was caught at the second attempt by skipper Alastair Cook at short mid wicket to leave the tourists on 122-6.

The game was brought to a conclusion by Moeen as Hazlewood (14) went for a big hit and was caught by man of the match Joe Root at long off.

It was the cue for England to celebrate with Moeen having played a full part in enabling them to win the opening round in the five Test series.

England selectors today (Sunday) announced an unchanged 13-man squad for the second Test beginning on Thursday July 16 at Lord’s.


Alastair Cook (Essex)

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

James Anderson (Lancashire)

Gary Ballance (Yorkshire)

Ian Bell (Warwickshire)

Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)

Jos Buttler (Lancashire)

Steven Finn (Middlesex)

Adam Lyth (Yorkshire)

Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)

Joe Root (Yorkshire)

Ben Stokes (Durham)

Mark Wood (Durham)