Wednesday, September 30th, 2015

Worcs All-Rounder Whiteley Amongst Winners At Pca Awards Ceremony

Worcs All-Rounder Whiteley Amongst Winners At Pca Awards Ceremony

Worcestershire all-rounder Ross Whiteley was amongst the award winners when the PCA Awards evening was staged at Tobacco Dock in London last night.

Whiteley, who has just earned his first England Lions call-up for the T20 series against Pakistan A in the UAE, lifted the Sky Sports Sixes Award.

The Sky cameras were present when Whiteley produced an amazing display of clean hitting to strike 11 sixes in making 91 not out off 35 balls against Yorkshire at Headingley in the NatWest T20 Blast.

He finished as the joint leading six hitter in the competition with 29 – the same as Chris Gayle and Luke Wright.

Two former Worcestershire players also featured amongst the PCA award winners.

Opening batsman Michael Klinger won the Royal London One-Day Cup and NatWest T20 Blast Player Of The Year Awards after an outstanding season in white ball cricket for Gloucestershire.

And ex New Road paceman Jim Cumbes, the former Lancashire chief executive, won the PCA Special Merit Award, sponsored by Lycamobile, in recognition of more than 50 years of service to the game.

Cumbes played for Lancashire from 1963 to 1971, from Surrey from 1968 to 1970 before he rejoined Lancashire for the 1971 season. He moved to Worcestershire in 1972 and ended his career with Warwickshire in 1982.

He then moved into the commercial department at Edgbaston and was Commercial Manager from 1984 to 1987. Cumbes then joined Lancashire in a similar capacity and was Chief Executive from 1998 to 2012 and oversaw the major redevelopment of Old Trafford.

He also played league football as a goalkeeper for Aston Villa, Tranmere Rovers, West Bromwich Albion and Southport and ended his career with three seasons at Worcester City.

Durham seamer Chris Rushworth has been crowned the 2015 PCA Player of the Year with Surrey starlet Tom Curran picking up the Young Player of the Year.

Both awards were voted for by their fellow county cricketers for their performances throughout the 2015 summer as the prestigious trophies were handed out in front of past and present players, the England Test squad, officials, sponsors and guests.

The event was dominated by bowlers as England Women’s star Anya Shrubsole lifted the Waitrose Women’s Player of the Summer thanks to her performance in the Ashes.

Stuart Broad joined Shrubsole in picking up the main national award with the Nottinghamshire paceman crowned the Investec Test Player of the Summer.

Thirteen awards were presented on the night and Rushworth was also the winner of the county MVP and selected in the PCA Team of the Year.

Angus Porter, PCA Chief Executive, commented: “Many congratulations to Chris, Tom, Anya and all of the winners. To be selected by fellow professionals is rightly seen as the ultimate accolade.

"Previous winners of the PCA Player and Young Player have gone on to have wonderful careers, both at county and international level, which just shows the people best placed to judge outstanding performances are fellow professionals.”

The full list of the 2015 PCA Awards winners:

Reg Hayter Cup for the PCA Player of the Year

Chris Rushworth (Durham)

Overall PCA County MVP

Chris Rushworth (Durham)

John Arlott Cup for the PCA Young Player of the Year

Tom Curran (Surrey)

Investec Test Player of the Summer

Stuart Broad

Waitrose Women’s Player of the Summer

Anya Shrubsole

PCA Team of the Year

Alastair Cook © (Essex and England)

Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire and England)

Joe Root (Yorkshire and England)

Sam Northeast (Kent)

Luke Wright (Sussex)

Ben Stokes (Durham and England)

Alex Davies (Lancashire)

Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire and England)

Matt Coles (Kent)

Jeetan Patel (Warwickshire)

Chris Rushworth (Durham)

Sky Sports Sixes Award


Royal London One Day Cup Player of the Year Award

Michael Klinger (Gloucestershire)

NatWest T20 Blast Player of the Year Award

Michael Klinger (Gloucestershire)

PCA Special Merit Award sponsored by Lycamobile

Jim Cumbes

ECB Special Award

Lord Bill Morris

PCA England Masters MVP

Usman Afzaal

Harold Goldblatt Award for the PCA Umpire of the Year

Michael Gough