Saturday, August 19th, 2023

Worcestershire County Cricket Club Celebrates Cynthia Crawford MBE’s Appointment as Honorary Life Vice President

Worcestershire County Cricket Club is delighted to announce the elevation of Cynthia Crawford MBE to the esteemed position of Honorary Life Vice President. 

This prestigious honour stands as a testament to her exceptional contributions to the Club, solidifying her status not only as the Club’s inaugural female President and now as an Honorary Life Vice President.

Cynthia Crawford’s remarkable journey with Worcestershire County Cricket Club has been one defined by unwavering dedication and passion. Throughout her support, she has always shown an unmatched commitment to the Club.

As her tenure as the Club’s President approaches its maximum length, the Board of the Club has unanimously recognised Cynthia’s enduring impact by bestowing upon her the distinction of Honorary Life Vice Presidency, subject to ratification by the Club’s members at its next Annual General Meeting.

Cynthia assumed the role of the 40th President of the Club in 2021, marking a historic moment as the Club’s first female President. Her connection with Worcestershire dates back to her move to the city from Powys in the 1960s, becoming an ardent supporter of the Club. 

Not only has Cynthia been a driving force as a supporter, but she has also held the position of President of the Worcestershire Supporters’ Association for the past decade, an appointment extended by the then Chair, Ken Mills MBE. 

Her contributions to the Club’s legacy have extended to organising benefit years for legendary figures such as Basil D’Oliveira CBE, Vanburn Holder, Alan Ormrod, and Graeme Hick MBE.

Club Chairs, past and present, and other Club officials have spoken of their delight on hearing of Cynthia’s elevation to an Honorary Life Vice President.

Fanos Hira, Chair of Worcestershire County Cricket Club, said: “We, as a Board, are filled with immense pride as we announce Cynthia Crawford’s appointment as an Honorary Life Vice President. 

“It was a personal delight to be able to inform her of this award this week. I very much look forward to welcoming Cynthia back to New Road soon as an Honorary Life Vice President.”

“Cynthia’s impact cannot be overstated; she stands not only as a dedicated ambassador of Worcestershire County Cricket Club but also as a trailblazing figure in our Club’s rich history. 

Vice-Chair Paul Pridgeon added, “It’s the highest award the Club can gift, and Cynthia joining the very small group of Life Vice Presidents is totally deserved for all she has done.”

“This is the perfect way to honour someone who has devoted so much time and energy to the Club over such a long period of time. 

Chair of Worcestershire County Cricket Supporters Association Andrew Jenkins added, “Cynthia has been President of the Supporters Association for over ten years, during which time she has been a familiar face at the ground known to both home and visiting supporters alike, always promoting the Club and the Supporters Association. 

“It is true to say that without Cynthia’s encouragement and guidance, the Supporters Association may not have carried on following the loss of the long-serving Chair Ken Mills. In the last two years, she has carried out the role brilliantly alongside the Presidency of the Club.

“As President of the Club, Cynthia carries out her role with great enthusiasm and style and will no doubt do so as a Vice President and continue to be a wonderful ambassador for the Club.

Former Chair, and Honorary Vice President, John Elliott also expressed his delight, “I’m absolutely delighted that the Club has awarded Cynthia the honour of a Life Vice Presidency. 

“Having known Cynthia over many years, it is something she greatly deserves. She has been a loyal member supporting our team through successful and less successful times whilst being a great benefactor and helping Worcestershire in many ways.

“She is also a very popular President of our Supporter’s Association and President of our great Club for the past three years.

“A lovely and highly respected lady inside and outside of the Club, Ray, her late husband, would be very proud of her in achieving this honour.

Former Chair Martyn Price echoed the sentiments from others and further highlighted her support of various projects over the years, “It’s just reward for such a tremendous supporter of the Club, and someone who has always given everyone the warmest welcomes to New Road. 

“Over many years, her personal support of various projects has been instrumental in developing New Road and the facilities on and off the field.

Worcestershire CCC Honorary Life Vice Presidents:

Cynthia Crawford MBE
John Chadd
John Elliott
David Exall
Duncan Fearnley
Jack Randall
Peter Seward FCA
Doug Slade
Peter Radburn
Dave Broughall
Martyn Price
Norman Gifford MBE
Tim Curtis
Stephen Taylor
Vanburn Holder