Wednesday, June 23rd, 2021


Worcestershire Women’s Rapids duo Emily Arlott and Sarah Glenn have been named in the England Women’s squad for the Royal London ODI Series against India – and could be in action for their country at New Road.

The third and final game in the 50 over series will occur on Arlott and Glenn’s home ground on Sunday, July 3.

It is a first ODI call-up for Arlott and follows on from the pace bowler being named in the England squad for the drawn LV=Insurance Test match against India at Bristol.

Glenn is a regular member of the T20I and ODI side since making her debut for England 18 months ago.

She has appeared for England in 18 T20Is and six ODIs.

Arlott and Glenn have both been members of the successful Central Sparks team in the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy this summer.

Head Coach Lisa Keightley said: “We’re looking forward to playing ODI cricket again after a hugely enjoyable and hard-fought Test match.

“The competition for places across all formats is growing every time we meet to select a squad. The options available to us are the strongest we’ve had since I’ve been in the role, and we feel this group gives us a great opportunity for success in the ODI element of the series.”


England squad

Heather Knight (Western Storm, captain)
Emily Arlott (Central Sparks & Worcestershire)
Tammy Beaumont (Lightning)
Katherine Brunt (Northern Diamonds)
Kate Cross (Thunder)
Freya Davies (South East Stars)
Sophia Dunkley (South East Stars)
Sophie Ecclestone (Thunder)
Tash Farrant (South East Stars)
Sarah Glenn (Central Sparks)
Amy Jones (Central Sparks)
Nat Sciver (Northern Diamonds, vice captain)
Anya Shrubsole (Western Storm)
Mady Villiers (Sunrisers)
Fran Wilson (Sunrisers)
Lauren Winfield-Hill (Northern Diamonds)

Royal London Series

Sunday June 27: 1st match of the Royal London Series. England v India (Bristol County Ground, 11am)

Wednesday June 30: 2nd match of the Royal London Series. England v India (The Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton, 2pm)

Sunday July 3: 3rd match of the Royal London Series. England v India (New Road, Worcester, 11am)