Monday, June 20th, 2022


Worcestershire Women’s Rapids and Central Sparks pace bowler, Emily Arlott, has been included in the England Women’s squad for the LV= Insurance Test against South Africa at the Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton beginning on June 27.

Arlott is part of a 13 strong squad and one of five potential Test debutants along with Lauren Bell, Alice Davidson-Richards, Freya Davies and Emma Lamb.

She helped the Rapids win the ECB County Group Two T20 competition and was a member of the Sparks side which reached the final of the Charlotte Edwards Cup.

Arlott was named in the England squad last summer for the Test versus India but was not selected and then travelled with England ‘A’ to Australia during the winter.

She was named in the 2021 PCA Women’s Team Of The Year.

The Test match forms the first part of the multi-format series, with four points available for the game and two points available for each white-ball game.

England Women squad

Heather Knight (Western Storm, cap)
Emily Arlott (Central Sparks & Worcestershire)
Tammy Beaumont (Lightning)
Lauren Bell (Southern Vipers)
Kate Cross (Thunder)
Alice Davidson-Richards (South East Stars)
Freya Davies (South East Stars)
Charlie Dean (Southern Vipers)
Sophia Dunkley (South East Stars)
Sophie Ecclestone (Thunder)
Amy Jones (Central Sparks)
Emma Lamb (Thunder)
Nat Sciver (Northern Diamonds, vice captain)

Travelling reserve

Issy Wong (Central Sparks)

Head Coach Lisa Keightley said: “There are a number of new faces in the squad which brings a real level of energy and enthusiasm. We’re at the beginning of a new ICC Women’s Championship cycle, which starts for us with the India ODIs, and it’s natural that we’re looking forward with one eye on who may be a key player for us come 2025.

“Similarly with Katherine Brunt retired from Test cricket and Anya Shrubsole from all forms of the international game, a number of bowling spots have opened up which is hugely exciting for those players. I’m sure they’ll all be very keen to grab their opportunity.

“We have to balance having the appropriate back-up for the senior squad while also giving playing opportunities. We need our players to play as much cricket as possible, which is why we have a deliberately small Test squad while the England Women’s A team are in action against South Africa.

“It really is a massive summer, with the Commonwealth Games just around the corner, and we can’t wait to get started with the red ball in Taunton.”

Worcestershire Women’s Rapids and England spinner, Sarah Glenn, has been included in the England Women’s ‘A’ squad for the three-day fixture against South Africa, which starts Tuesday June 21 at Arundel.

The squad will be captained by Georgia Elwiss, and led by England A Head Coach John Stanworth. Of the 15 players selected, nine are yet to make their international debut.

England Women A

Georgia Elwiss (Southern Vipers, cap), Maia Bouchier (Southern Vipers), Danni Gibson (Western Storm), Sarah Glenn (Central Sparks), Freya Kemp (Southern Vipers), Eve Jones (Central Sparks), Ella McCaughan (Southern Vipers), Kalea Moore (South East Stars), Tara Norris (Southern Vipers), Grace Potts (Central Sparks), Grace Scrivens (Sunrisers), Alexa Stonehouse (South East Stars), Mady Villiers (Sunrisers), Lauren Winfield-Hill (Northern Diamonds), Danni Wyatt(Southern Vipers)

England Women v South Africa Women fixtures

LV= Insurance Test Match

Monday June 27-Thursday June 30: England v South Africa (Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton, 11am) Four points

Royal London Series

Monday July 11: England v South Africa (The County Ground, Northampton, 2pm) Two points

Friday July 15: England v South Africa (Seat Unique Stadium, Bristol 2pm) Two points

Monday July 18: England v South Africa (The Uptonsteel County Ground, Leicester, 2pm) Two points

Vitality IT20 Series

Thursday July 21: England v South Africa (The Cloud County Ground, Chelmsford, 7pm) Two points

Saturday July 23: England v South Africa (New Road, Worcester, 2.30pm) Two points

Monday July 25: England v South Africa (The Incora County Ground, Derby, 6.30pm) Two points