Friday, August 29th, 2014

Whiteley And Dolly Named In Squad To Face Derbyshire

Whiteley And Dolly Named In Squad To Face Derbyshire

Worcestershire Director of Cricket Steve Rhodes has named a 13 man squad for the LV = County Championship clash with Derbyshire at Derby starting on Sunday.

Rhodes has added former Derbyshire all-rounder Ross Whiteley and leg spinner Brett D'Oliveira to the players on duty during the first Championship defeat of the season against Gloucestershire at New Road 11 days ago.

Whiteley, who played in the opening nine Championship matches of the campaign, has recently impressed in white ball cricket including an unbeaten 84 with nine sixes in the home NatWest T20 Blast clash with Derbyshire.

Paceman Mitchell McClenaghan has been given permission by New Zealand Cricket to remain at New Road for the remainder of the season.

The Gloucestershire setback came at the climax of a demanding schedule of games and Rhodes gave the majority of his players a nine day break before they reconvened on Wednesday at New Road.

He said: "The lads have had quite a long break. The coaching staff and medical staff have been in and out and with lots of things to do.

" But the players, which is the most important thing, have freshened up now and I'm sure will be raring to go for the last 12 days of the season (against Derbyshire, Surrey and Essex).

"In the Gloucestershire game, it was an important toss and, without going back over too much old ground, it put us on the back foot straight away.

"It also came on the back of a heavy, heavy schedule and I think the lads were absolutely out on the their feet to a certain extent.

"But they've got no excuses for that this time around. We should be ready and have got three really good practice sessions prior to the Derby game and we will look forward to it."

Worcestershire lead Division Two by 25 points from Hampshire and, as the current table stands, need a maximum of 31 more points to ensure promotion.

Worcestershire (from): Mitchell, Oliver, Fell, Kervezee, Kohler-Cadmore, Cox, Leach, Choudhry, Shantry, McClenaghan, Morris, Whiteley, D'Oliveira.