Wednesday, July 26th, 2017

Under-17S Lose Early Wickets After Dismissing Devon For 340

Under-17S Lose Early Wickets After Dismissing Devon For 340

Worcestershire Under-17s lost three early wickets after dismissing Devon Under-17s for 340 on the opening day of the ECB County Championship match at Stourport CC.

The County will resume on 47-3 after the dismissal of Jujhar Johal, Mahaaz Ahmed and skipper Zain Ul-Hassan in the closing stages.

Worcestershire fought back well with the ball after Devon had reached 208-2 at one stage after choosing to bat with Matt Davis and Ul-Hassan claiming three wickets apiece.

New ball bowler Davis and Ul-Hassan both picked up an early wicket to leave Devon on 38-2 but then J. Khan (105) and A. Causey (78) added 170 in 36 overs for the third wicket.

Davis returned to dismiss Khan whose 117 ball knock contained two sixes and 16 fours and in the next over Xavier Clarke accounted for Causey who faced only 75 deliveries and hit one six and 14 fours.

Worcestershire worked their way through the remainder of the Devon batting, eventually bowling them out in 89.3 overs.

Davis finished with 3-24 from 12.3 overs and Ul-Hassan 3-34 from 13 overs with Charlie Cross also picking up two wickets.

Worcestershire, who had the better of a drawn opening game with Gloucestershire, were left with 15 overs batting.

But they lost those three wickets – all caught behind – although opener Callum Lea remained unbeaten on 19.


Devon Under-17s – first innings

H Sargent c B Fitzmaurice b M Davis 12

A Causey st B Fitzmaurice b X Clarke 78

J Bovey b Z Hassan 9

J Khan lbw b M Davis 105

H Ward c M Davis b C Cross 75

S Taylor+ c B Cox b Z Hassan 9

J Gibbs* c B Fitzmaurice b Z Hassan 4

J Onley-Gregson c G Hatfield b C Cross 12

M Hancock c B Fitzmaurice b M Davis 25

E Adams lbw b B Cox 7

C Yabsley not out 0

Extras 4

Total (all out) 340 in 89.3 overs

FOW: 16, 38, 208, 210, 255, 261, 292, 320, 340, 340


B Cox 13-5-30-1

M Davis 12.3-5-24-3

Z Hassan 13-3-34-3

C Cross 16-3-58-2

P Clark 13-3-65-0

J Johal 3-0-24-0

M Ahmed 7-0-47-0

X Clarke 12-2-55-1


Worcestershire Under-17s – first innings

C Lea not out 19

J Johal c S Taylor b J Onley-Gregson 0

M Ahmed c S Taylor b J Onley-Gregson 17

Z Ul-Hassan* c S Taylor b J Gibbs 1

B Cox not out 4

Extras 6

Total (for 3 wickets) 47 in 15 overs

FOW: 16, 38, 40


J Gibbs 6-1-19-1

J Onley-Gregson 5-2-19-2

M Hancock 2-2-0-0

E Adams 1-0-5-0

S Woodcock 1-1-0-0