Monday, May 18th, 2015

Tongue And Scrimshaw Impress As Academy Defeat Grammar School

Tongue And Scrimshaw Impress As Academy Defeat Grammar School

Worcestershire Academy defeated Worcester Royal Grammar School by 29 runs at Flagge Meadow with opening batsman Josh Tongue and opening bowler George Scrimshaw making major contributions.

The Academy won the toss and elected to bat and scored 257-7 in their 50 overs.

All-rounder Tongue, who opened the bowling for the Seconds against Northamptonshire last week, and Jake Cartwright got the Academy off to a flying start.

They put on 150 in 28 overs for the first wicket before Tongue was out for 95. His 103 ball knock contained one six and 14 fours.

Cartwright departed shortly afterwards for 51 from 69 deliveries with five fours. But then Zak Smith (34) and Zain Hassan (40) forged another productive partnership of 63 in 14 overs.

Ollie Saunders, with 3-35, and Armar Jawanda (2-35) were the most successful RGS bowlers.

Scrimshaw took the new ball and dismissed Ed Owen in his first over and Kieron Smith in his third to leave RGS on 22-2.

They launched something of a recovery to reach 182-5 in the 42nd over.

But then Scrimshaw, on his return to the attack, picked up the wickets of Mark Jones, Suleyman Shah and George Cook in the space of nine balls.

RGS eventually closed on 228-8 with Scrimshaw returning figures of 5-31. There was one wicket apiece for Dom Badger, Dan Lloyd, who bowled eight overs for just 15 runs, and Xavier Clarke.


Cartwright c Owen b Shah 51

Tongue c Jawanda b Cook 95

Smith c Bartlett b Saunders 34

Hassan c Taylor b Saunders 40

Johal st Owen b Jawanda 3

Clarke c Taylor b Saunders 9

Wilcox not out 9

Scrimshaw b Jawanda 0

Lloyd not out 0

Extras 16

Total (for 7 wickets) 257 in 50 overs

FOW: 150, 161, 224, 236, 247, 257, 257.

Bowling: Saunders 3-53, Jawanda 2-35, Cook 1-40, Shah 1-24.


Owen b Scrimshaw 2

Bartlett lbw Badger 47

Smith c Wilcox b Scrimshaw 5

Turner c Cartwright b Clarke 30

Taylor c Hassan b Lloyd 22

Jones c Wilcox b Scrimshaw 37

Shah b Scrimshaw 22

Cook c Clarke b Scrimshaw 3

Saunders not out 21

Jawanda not out 12

Extras 27

Total (for 8 wickets) 228 in 50 overs

FOW: 4, 22, 82, 116, 124, 182, 188, 192.


Scrimshaw 6-0-31-5

Davis 9-1-48-0

Hassan 4-1-12-0

Marshall 6-1-35-0

Badger 7-1-35-1

Lloyd 8-1-15-1

Clarke 6-0-25-1

Smith 4-0-25-0