Sunday, July 9th, 2017

Tomson Hits Sparkling 85 As Development X1 Defeat Aussie Opponents

Tomson Hits Sparkling 85 As Development X1 Defeat Aussie Opponents

Malvern College pupil Aaron Tomson hit a rapid 85 as a Worcestershire Development Of Excellence X1 overcame New South Wales Blue Barbarians Select X1 by 70 runs at Dumbleton CC today.

Tomson came in at number five and struck 14 boundaries and faced just 55 balls as the Development X1 reached 244-8 in their 50 overs after choosing to bat.

After two wickets had gone down for 11 runs, Rehaan Edavaleth (36) and Henry Cullen (30) rebuilt the innings during a patient stand of 77 in 26 overs for the third wicket.

Then Tomson produced the fireworks in a fifth wicket partnership of 95 in 11 overs with Josh Dickenson (16).

Luke Tulacz then struck a quickfire 25 not out off 12 balls – and then he got to work with the ball.

He removed both openers and picked up three of the first four wickets to reduce the Barbarians to 21-4 in the 11th over.

Tulacz eventually finished with 4-44 from his 10 overs and the Barbarians closed on 174-9 after some late order hitting.

His new ball partner Henry Marshall (7-2-14-1), Pete Clark (10-2-28-1) and Lewis Evans (6-3-17-2) also returned impressive figures.


Worcestershire Development Of Excellence X1

D Holland* c S Greenland b A Joshi 10

D Meredith c M Crayn b A Joshi 0

R Edavaleth lbw b E Jameson 36

H Cullen+ lbw b R Scott 30

A Tomson run out (W Greenland) 85

J Dickenson run out (W Davidson) 16

P Clark c S Greenland b J Davies 1

N Jakobsen c R Scott b J Davies 8

L Evans not out 4

L Tulacz not out 25

Extras 29

Total (for 8 wickets) 244 in 50 overs

FOW: 10, 11, 88, 107, 202, 206, 207, 214


A Joshi 10-0-29-2

W Davidson 5-0-22-0

J Davies 8-0-39-2

T Sidgreaves 3-0-12-0

S Greenland 9-1-44-0

A Sidhu 4-2-13-0

E Jameson 5-1-25-1

R Scott 3-0-20-1

W Greenland 2-0-25-0

F Farquarson 1-0-10-0


New South Wales Blue Barbarians Select X1

T Sidgreaves c D Holland b L Tulacz 0

R Scott c H Cullen b L Tulacz 7

E Jameson b H Marshall 2

F Farquarson* c D Holland b N Jakobsen 32

S Greenland c D Meredith b L Tulacz 10

M Crayn+ lbw b P Clark 18

A Sidhu b L Evans 13

W Davidson lbw b L Evans 11

J Davies c H Cullen b L Tulacz 11

A Joshi not out 26

W Greenland not out 27

Extras 17

Total (for 9 wickets) 174 in 50 overs

FOW: 0, 9, 9, 21, 46,76, 104, 105, 124.


L Tulacz 10-3-44-4

H Marshall 7-2-14-1

P Clark 10-2-28-1

H Froggart 6-1-24-0

L Evans 6-3-17-2

N Jakobsen 4-0-14-1

R Edavaleth 7-0-25-0