Monday, July 22nd, 2019


George Rhodes returned his best ever bowling figures in the Second Eleven Championship as Worcestershire Seconds bowled out their Durham counterparts for 217 on the opening day of the Championship match at Maiden Castle.

The off spinner finished with figures of 23.3-5-84-7 after Durham had been 95-0 at one stage.

It surpassed his previous SEC best of 4-64 against Glamorgan Seconds at Cardiff Cricket Club six years ago.

Ed Bragg (11-4-20-1), leg spinner Josh Dickenson (15-1-40-1) and Matt Davis (10-5-20-1) were the other wicket-takers.

In reply, Worcestershire lost five wickets for 28 runs in reply before Nick Hammond (18) and Jacques Banton (20) added an unbroken 42 and lifted them to 70-5 by the close.

Worcestershire included paceman Charlie Morris who had been part of the squad for the Specsavers County Championship match with Gloucestershire at Cheltenham.

Durham were put into bat and Angus Robson, who has played several games for Worcestershire Seconds this season, opened the innings.

Morris bowled eight overs for just 12 runs but Robson and Cameron Steel laid a solid platform for the home side with the former completing an 86 ball half century.

Rhodes broke the partnership in the final before lunch with 95 on the board when dismissing Robson (55) who was caught at first slip.

There was no addition to the interval score of 98-1 when Michael Jones (3) was bowled by Ed Bragg.

Worcestershire began to pick up wickets at regular intervals after play resumed.

Gareth Harte (7) fell to Matt Davis – caught at backward short leg – and then Ryan Pringle (16) – at short mid-wicket – and Solomon Bell (5) – backward point) both departed to Rhodes in the space of 10 runs to leave Durham

Luke Doneathy (30) was caught behind off Dickenson and then Rhodes wrapped up the remainder of the innings in double quick time.

The last four wickets fell to him in the space of 11 balls including opener Cameron Steel who-top scored with 83.

Doneathy caused the damage to the Seconds top order with a four wicket burst as Rhodes (5), Tom Fell (6), Ollie Westbury (13), Josh Dell (0) and captain Alex Milton (0) were dismissed.