Wednesday, July 29th, 2015

Seconds Win Against Bham League Via Duckworth-Lewis Method

Seconds Win Against Bham League Via Duckworth-Lewis Method

Worcestershire Seconds gained a six wicket win over the Birmingham League via the Duckworth-Lewis Method in a rain-hit 50 over match at Bromsgrove Cricket Club.

The Birmingham League, who were put in by Seconds skipper Shaaiq Choudhry, totalled 184 all out and batted for only 29.4 of their permitted 50 overs.

After several interruptions, the Seconds were left with a revised target of 161 in 34 overs which became 149 in 30 overs and then 111 in 23 overs.

They reached the final target with 2.2 overs to spare.

There were several Worcestershire CCC connections in the League X1 in the form of former opener Matt Pardoe while Ed Foster (Shrewsbury) and Ed Pollock (Barnt Green) both played age group cricket for the county.

In addition League bowler Luke Radford is the son of former Worcestershire paceman Neal Radford.

Old Hill opener Danny Cox top-scored for the League with 32 while Graeme Whiles was the most successful bowler for the county with 4-49.

Alex Hepburn (2-24) was the other main wicket-taker.

George Rhodes, Joe Clarke, Alex Hepburn and Josh Dell all made 20s for the Seconds who return to competitive action in a Championship match with Lancashire at Southport from August 3-5. 

Birmingham League

Pardoe c Clarke b Smith 19

Cox lbw Scrimshaw 32

Foster c Williams b Hepburn 12

Pollock c Fraine b Whiles 5

Ball b Whiles 23

McChristie c Rhodes b Whiles 0

Gregory c Clarke b Hepburn 1

Radford c Clarke b Whiles 27

Smith c Fraine b Choudhry 19

Diwan c Scrimshaw b Russell 19

Griffiths not out 1

Extras 26

Total (all out) 184 in 29.4 overs

FOW: 56, 56, 61, 100, 100, 108, 119, 136, 174, 184


Russell 5-0-32-1

Smith 4-0-29-1

Scrimshaw 3-0-18-1

Whiles 8-0-49-4

Hepburn 7-1-24-2

Choudhry 2.4-0-26-1

Worcestershire Seconds

Rhodes b Radford 20

Clarke b Smith 24

Hepburn b Diwan 25

Dell not out 20

Choudhry lbw Diwan 7

Fraine not out 3

Extras 12

Total (for 4 wickets) 111 in 20.4 overs

FOW: 39, 45, 85, 101

Bowling: Diwan 2-7, Radford 1-23, Smith 1-29