Monday, June 26th, 2017

Seconds Looking For Championship Tonic After Double T20 Setback

Seconds Looking For Championship Tonic After Double T20 Setback

Worcestershire Seconds will be looking to bounce back from their double T20 setback against Durham Seconds at Burnopfield when they start a three-day Championship match at the same venue tomorrow.

The County defeated Northamptonshire by an innings last week after claiming 20 wickets on the second day in a fine performance.

It was their second Championship success of the campaign.

In the T20 double header, Worcestershire went down by nine wickets in Game One and then by seven wickets in Game Two.

In Game One, Worcestershire elected to bat and opener Alex Hepburn hit 53 off 40 balls with one six and eight fours.

He shared in an opening partnership of 73 in 9.4 overs with Tom Fell (28).

Hepburn was second out at 99 and then 28 from Adam Wiffen helped Worcestershire to 150-6 in their 20 overs.

Durham made light work of their task with Liam Trevaskis (52) and Adam Hickey (77 not out off 46 balls with four sixes and eight fours) putting on 103 in 12 overs for the first wicket.

It was Worcestershire paceman George Scrimshaw who claimed the only wicket to fall in his first appearance of the summer after a back problem.

Durham finally achieved victory with 13 balls to spare.

In Game Two, Worcestershire were put into bat and were dismissed for 114 in 18.3 overs with only Fell (21) and Alexei Kervezee (26) topping 20.

The best stand of the innings saw Kervezee and Alex Milton add 37 for the fourth wicket.

Trevaskis this time showed his prowess with the ball, returning 4-22 off his four overs.

When Durham replied, Kervezee picked up two wickets but Durham needed only 13.1 overs to complete the double.



Worcestershire Seconds

A Hepburn b GHI Harding 53

TC Fell c BA Carse b AJ Hickey 28

AO Wiffen lbw b U Arshad 28

AN Kervezee b U Arshad 6

AG Milton+ lbw b U Arshad 0

OE Westbury b GHI Harding 10

BJ Twohig* not out 7

JD Shantry not out 1

Extras 17

Total (for 6 wickets) 150 in 20 overs

FOW: 73, 99, 123, 123, 126, 146


U Arshad 4-0-18-3

G Onions 4-0-34-0

J Coughlin 3-0-25-0

AJ Hickey 4-0-23-1

GHI Harding 4-0-31-2

L Trevaskis 1-0-7-0


Durham Seconds

L Trevaskis c AN Kervezee b GLS Scrimshaw 52

AJ Hickey not out 77

MJ Richardson not out 18

Extras 5

Total (for 1 wicket) 152 in 17.5 overs

FOW: 103


JD Shantry 2-0-16-0

CA Morris 3-0-34-0

PR Brown 3-0-28-0

A Hepburn 2.5-0-31-0

BJ Twohig 4-0-23-0

AN Kervezee 1-0-10-0

GLS Scrimshaw 2-0-7-1



Worcestershire Seconds

TC Fell c AJ Hickey b ADF Brewster 21

A Hepburn c AJ Hickey b U Arshad 5

AO Wiffen c GHI Harding b G Onions 4

AN Kervezee st BJ Yates b L Trevaskis 26

AG Milton+ lbw b GHI Harding 17

OE Westbury c GHI Harding b L Trevaskis 9

Z Ul Hassan c GHI Harding b AJ Hickey 13

BJ Twohig* c AJ Hickey b L Trevaskis 2

JD Shantry c S Steel b L Trevaskis 10

PR Brown run out (MJ Richardson) 1

CA Morris not out 2

Extras 4

Total (all out) 114 in 18.3 overs

FOW: 12, 29, 34, 71, 83, 89, 92, 105, 110, 114.


GHI Harding 4-0-21-1

U Arshad 1-0-7-1

G Onions 4-0-32-1

ADF Brewster 2-0-6-1

AJ Hickey 3.3-0-26-1

L Trevaskis 4-0-22-4


Durham Seconds

L Trevaskis b AN Kervezee 12

AJ Hickey b AN Kervezee 23

MJ Richardson not out 23

GJ Harte st AG Milton b BJ Twohig 25

BA Carse* not out 26

Extras 6

Total ( for 3 wickets) 115 in 13.1 overs

FOW: 12, 46, 79


AN Kervezee 4-0-34-2

JD Shantry 3-0-30-0

BJ Twohig 4-0-31-1

A Hepburn 2.1-0-14-0


The Worcestershire squad for the Championship match beginning tomorrow is:




Hepburn (c)


Milton (w)

Ul Hassan