Friday, May 26th, 2017

Seconds Go Down By Seven Wickets To Lancs

Seconds Go Down By Seven Wickets To Lancs

Worcestershire Seconds went down by seven wickets to their Lancashire counterparts on the final day of the Championship clash at Northern CC in Liverpool.

Lancashire were left a 264 target after Worcestershire were bowled out for 327 in 88.3 overs this morning.

An unbroken fourth wicket stand of 166 in 23 overs between Rob Jones and Josh Bohannon saw the home side to victory.

Worcestershire resumed on 253-5 with Ross Whiteley unbeaten on 60 but he added only five more before being trapped lbw by Arron Lilley.

Whiteley struck one six and nine fours in his 124 ball knock.

Keeper Alex Milton (1) quickly followed Whiteley back to the pavilion, lbw to Jones at 263-7.

Zen Malik (22) and Ben Twohig (23) dug in to add 44 in 16 overs before the pair fell in successive overs to Saqib Mohammad.

Connor Dudley hit three fours in his unbeaten 15 before the innings was wrapped up.

Alex Hepburn gave Worcestershire an ideal start when he had Karl Brown (0) caught behind from the first ball of the innings.

Callum Turner (44) and Luke Procter (29) added 67 for the second wicket and at 99-3 the game was still in the balance.

But then Jones and Bohannon joined forces to seal victory for the Red Rose county.

Bohannon was particularly aggressive, striking seven sixes in his unbeaten 99 while Jones finished unbeaten on 80.

Worcestershire Seconds – second innings continued

(overnight 253-5)

R Whiteley lbw b AM Lilley 65

A Milton lbw b LA Procter 1

Z Malik c KR Brown b S Mahmood 22

B Twohig c RP Jones b S Mahmood 23

C Dudley not out 15

P Brown b L Hurt 0

Extras 31

Total (all out) 327 in 88.3 overs

FOW continued: 259, 263, 307, 310, 327


S Mahmood 13-5-34-2

TJ Lester 8-0-53-2

L Hurt 9.3-1-31-1

DJ Lamb 4-0-30-0

M Parkinson 8-0-53-0

AM Lilley 27-6-66-2

LA Procter 17-4-37-2

RP Jones 2-0-8-1


Lancashire Seconds – second innings

KR Brown c †A Milton b A Hepburn 0

C Turner c Z Malik b G Rhodes 44

LA Procter c †A Milton b B Twohig 29

RP Jones not out 80

JJ Bohannon not out 99

Extras 13

Total (for 3 wickets) 265 in 49.1 overs

FOW: 0, 63, 99


A Hepburn 5-0-16-1

P Brown 12-1-48-0

G Rhodes 14-0-77-1

M Wareing 1-0-9-0

B Twohig 11.1-1-54-1

Z Malik 3-0-28-0

Kervezee 3-0-23-0