Monday, May 27th, 2019



worcestershire seconds four-day friendly with their gloucestershire counterparts at clifton college was abandoned mid-way through the opening day.

umpires nigel cowley and alex wharf called the game off because of concerns over the pitch with worcestershire 43-1 from 14.2 overs after bowling out the home side for 81.

worcestershire batsmen ollie westbury (16 not out) and brett d’oliveira (20 not out) were struck on the hand and chest respectively by deliveries which lifted off a length before the decision was taken to abandon the game.

happily both batsmen escaped injury but hopes of finding another venue to play a three-day game from tuesday to thursday did not materialise and the worcestershire squad returned home on monday evening.

gloucestershire had opted to bat and were bowled out in 30.4 overs early in the afternoon session.

there had been signs of some uneven bounce during the gloucestershire innings which increased as the day progressed.

adam finch, 4-17 off nine overs, and brinder phagura, 5-12 off 8.4 overs, did the damage with the ball for worcestershire.

finch was released from first team squad duty against middlesex at New Road and quickly made a major impact.

he picked up three wickets in his second over with the second, third and sixth deliveries – all of them caught behind by alex milton.

finch returned 7-3-10-3 in his opening spell and then phagura entered the attack and also enjoyed considerable success.

his initial burst brought him figures of 7-4-11-3.

opener ben charlesworth (37) was the only player to offer much resistance until he fell just before the lunch interval to zain ul-hassan.

the last three wickets were quickly polished off after the resumption.

*worcestershire academy will continue their royal london under-17 county cup campaign tomorrow when they take on gloucestershire at rockhampton.

academy coach elliot wilson has named a 12 strong squad and play will get underway in the 50 overs per side game at 11am.

academy (from)

ollie walker

pete clark (captain)

alex hinkley

dan holland

rehaan edavalath

henry cullen (wicket-keeper)

joe miszkowski

ed bragg

luke tulacz

aaron tomson

matt davis

hassan akram