Friday, August 4th, 2017

Seconds Chalk Up Double T20 Success Against Local Rivals

Seconds Chalk Up Double T20 Success Against Local Rivals

Worcestershire Seconds completed a T20 double over Warwickshire Seconds at RGS Worcester with both sides using several first team squad members ahead of Friday's NatWest T20 Blast clash between the counties at Edgbaston.

The home side won the opening match by seven wickets with 5.5 overs to spare and the second game by five wickets with 2.5 overs overs remaining.

Play got underway an hour later than scheduled because of overnight rain.

In Game One Worcestershire opted to bowl first and three wickets in six balls from Charlie Morris gave them a control they never relinquished.

Morris's burst reduced Warwickshire to 42-4 and he finished with 3-27 as they were restricted to 116-8. Only Robert Yates with 41 not out from 23 balls showed signs of acceleration.

Mitchell Santner and fellow spinner Zen Malik both registered identical figures of 4-0-18-2 while skipper Ben Cox pulled off two stumpings.

Santner struck a quickfire 32 off 17 deliveries and an unbroken stand of 56 between George Rhodes (46 not out off 25 balls) and Ollie Westbury (21 not out off 27 balls) steered Worcestershire home in 14.1 overs.

In Game Two, Warwickshire were again put in and fared slightly better in scoring 146-8 with Matthew Lamb (40) top-scoring.

George Scrimshaw returned fine figures of 4-0-28-3 and Daryl Mitchell 4-0-18-1.

Worcestershire suffered an early innings wobble at 39-3 in reply but Ross Whiteley struck another five sixes in making 56 off 33 deliveries.

Ed Barnard (32 not out off 17 balls) partnered Whiteley in a fifth wicket stand of 51 in 4.5 overs to seal victory.



Warwickshire Seconds

EJ Pollock c TC Fell b AW Finch 3

NA Hammond c GH Rhodes b CAJ Morris 21

AJ Mellor+ c OB Cox b CAJ Morris 10

M Lamb b CAJ Morris 2

AD Thomason st OB Cox b MJ Santner 6

AT Thomson st OB Cox b Z Malik 6

RM Yates not out 41

DP Richardson c AW Finch b MJ Santner 8

JE Poysden* lbw b Z Malik 0

S Singh not out 13

Extras 6

Total (for 8 wickets) 116

FOW: 6, 37, 39, 42, 52, 58, 79, 80


AW Finch 4-0-35-1

PR Brown 4-0-17-0

CAJ Morris 4-0-27-3

MJ Santner 4-0-18-2

Z Malik 4-0-18-2


Worcestershire Seconds

MJ Santner c M Lamb b S Singh 32

TC Fell c AJ Mellor b OJ Hannon-Dalby 4

OB Cox*+ st AJ Mellor b S Singh 15

GH Rhodes not out 46

OE Westbury not out 21

Extras 4

Total (for 3 wickets) 122 in 14.1 overs

FOW: 5, 50, 66


OJ Hannon-Dalby 3-0-21-1

AD Thomason 1-0-15-0

DP Richardson 1-0-9-0

S Singh 4-0-28-0

JE Poysden 4-0-34-0

AT Thomson 1.1-0-13-0



Warwickshire Seconds

WTS Porterfield c A Hepburn b GLS Scrimshaw 17

NA Hammond c A Hepburn b JD Shantry 1

M Lamb run out (A Hepburn) 40

R Clarke c BJ Twohig b DKH Mitchell 21

AT Thomson run out (DKH Mitchell) 0

M Ahmed not out 25

DP Richardson lbw b A Hepburn 33

JE Poysden* c DKH Mitchell b GLS Scrimshaw 3

S Singh b GLS Scrimshaw 1

Extras 5

Total (for 8 wickets) 146

FOW: 19, 21, 70, 78, 82, 138, 144, 146


JD Shantry 3-0-20-1

GLS Scrimshaw 4-0-28-3

EG Barnard 2-0-27-0

A Hepburn 3-0-21-1

BJ Twohig 4-0-30-0

DKH Mitchell 4-0-18-1


Worcestershire Seconds

JM Clarke+ c JE Poysden b OJ Hannon-Dalby 13

JW Hastings c WTS Porterfield b S Singh 10

A Hepburn c and b S Singh 11

DKH Mitchell c and b S Singh 23

RA Whiteley b JE Poysden 56

EG Barnard not out 32

J Leach* not out 0

Extras 5

Total (for 5 wickets) 150 in 17.2 overs

FOW: 13, 38, 39, 88, 139


R Clarke 4-0-28-0

OJ Hannon-Dalby 2.-0-27-1

S Singh 4-0-23-3

JE Poysden 4-0-33-1

AT Thomson 2-0-20-0

M Ahmed 1-0-15-0