Thursday, June 12th, 2014

Rhodes Names 12 Man Rapids Squad For T20 Blast Tie At Derby

Rhodes Names 12 Man Rapids Squad For T20 Blast Tie At Derby

Worcestershire Director of Cricket Steve Rhodes has named a 12 man squad for the Rapids NatWest T20 Blast clash with Derbyshire Falcons under the floodlights at Derby on Friday evening (7pm start).

Rhodes has selected the 11 players on duty against Durham Jets in the televised clash at New Road on Saturday plus spinner Brett D'Oliveira.

All-rounder Gareth Andrew came into the Rapids side purely as a batsman in place of D'Oliveira against the Jets after the game was reduced to 13 overs a side.

It was an inspired move by Rhodes as Andrew's 20 off 12 balls and Ross Whiteley's treble sixes blast enabled the Rapids to pull the game out of the fire and win by five wickets.

All-rounder Moeen Ali will be absent while making his England Test debut against Sri Lanka at Lord's.

The Rapids will be looking to register a fifth successive win in the competition after overcoming Nottinghamshire Outlaws, Northamptonshire Steelbacks, Leicestershire Foxes and the Jets.

They are currently occupying top spot in the North Group but there are still eight games to play in the section.

The top four in the North and South groups progress through to the quarter-finals – a stage Worcestershire have reached on three occasions.

Worcestershire Rapids (from): Oliver, Mitchell, Kohler-Cadmore, Munro, Whiteley, Andrew, Cox, Kervezee, Shantry, Ajmal, Russell, D'Oliveira.