Saturday, June 6th, 2015

Rapids Chief Says Momentum Is Key To Success In T20 Blast

Rapids Chief Says Momentum Is Key To Success In T20 Blast

Steve Rhodes says momentum is the key to success in an ultra competitive NatWest T20 Blast North Group in which "anyone can beat each other."

Worcestershire Rapids Director of Cricket has named an unchanged 13 strong squad for tomorrow's home encounter with Notts Outlaws (2.30pm start).

The Rapids have won two of their opening three games and amassed 211-3 in last night's win over Northamptonshire Steelbacks at Wantage Road.

But Rhodes said: "We are not getting carried away with where we are now. We'll be getting carried away towards the end of this campaign.

"What we want to do is try and get momentum and get on a winning run and that's what happens in one-day cricket.

"Last year we won six on the bounce to qualify from the group and if we can get something similar, then we'll be very happy.

"All the sides in the North Division are excellent. Anyone can beat each other and we can't take anything for granted.

"Notts will be a tough prospect on Sunday in front of the Sky cameras and it will be a tough game for us.

"We'll saviour this moment (win over Northants) but you've got to live in the present and when we get there on Sunday, you've got to start again."

Rhodes has named the starting eleven against Northants plus Brett D'Oliveira and Alexei Kervezee in an unchanged 13 strong squad.

Saeed Ajmal is set to make the first home appearance of his latest spell with the Rapids after returning 3-53 against the Steelbacks.

The Pakistan spin star has joined up with the county for an initial five week period until July 7 although that may be extended depending on international call-ups.

Ajmal was a massive success with the county last summer, helping them to promotion in the LV = County Championship and quarter-finals of the T20 Blast, and home supporters will have the first opportunity to see his remodelled action.

Worcestershire Rapids (from):

Daryl Mitchell

Moeen Ali

Richard Oliver

Tom Kohler-Cadmore

Colin Munro

Ross Whiteley

Ben Cox

Brett D'Oliveira

Ed Barnard

Joe Leach

Saeed Ajmal

Jack Shantry

Alexei Kervezee