Thursday, September 9th, 2021


Moeen Ali has been included in England’s preliminary squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

The Worcestershire Rapids captain is amongst the 15 players – plus three travelling reserves – named by England Men’s Head Coach, Chris Silverwood.

The tournament will take place in UAE and Oman.

Moeen was part of the England squad, which won the ICC 50 over World Cup two years ago.

Sussex fast bowler Tymal Mills returns to the international set-up for the first time since February 2016.

Durham’s Ben Stokes was not available for selection and continues to take an indefinite break from all cricket to prioritise his mental wellbeing.

England have until 10 October to finalise their squad ahead of the tournament.

Silverwood said: “We are excited about the prospect of challenging to win the ICC T20 World Cup. I believe we have selected a squad that covers all bases and has the depth to be successful in what is expected to be a very competitive tournament featuring the best players in the world.”

As part of the team’s build-up to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, England are scheduled to play four warm-up matches, including a two-match T20I series against Pakistan.

Both matches are due to take place at the Rawalpindi International Stadium on 14-15 October.

*England preliminary ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Squad

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) Captain
Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Sam Billings (Kent)
Jos Buttler (Lancashire)
Sam Curran (Surrey)
Chris Jordan (Surrey)
Liam Livingstone (Lancashire)
Dawid Malan (Yorkshire)
Tymal Mills (Sussex)
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
Jason Roy (Surrey)
David Willey (Yorkshire)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)
Mark Wood (Durham)

Travelling Reserves

Tom Curran (Surrey)
Liam Dawson (Hampshire)
James Vince (Hampshire)

*ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 – England’s Group Fixtures:

England v West Indies, Saturday 23 October 2021, Dubai (6.00pm GST / 3.00pm BST)
England v Qualifier (B2), Wednesday 27 October 2021, Abu Dhabi (2.00pm GST / 11.00am BST)
England v Australia, Saturday 30 October 2021, Dubai (6.00pm GST / 3.00pm BST)
England v Qualifier (A1), Monday 1 November 2021, Sharjah (6.00pm GST / 2.00pm GMT)
England v South Africa, Saturday 6 November 2021, Sharjah (6.00pm GST / 2.00pm GMT)


First semi-final, Wednesday 10 November, Abu Dhabi (6.00pm GST / 2.00pm GMT)
Second semi-final, Thursday 11 November, Dubai (6.00pm GST / 2.00pm GMT)


Final, Sunday 14 November, Dubai (6.00pm GST / 2.00pm GMT)