Wednesday, August 12th, 2020

RAPIDS BID FOR MORE BLAST GLORY WITH HOME BANK HOLIDAY DOUBLE HEADER

Worcestershire Rapids will launch their bid for further Vitality Blast glory with two of their opening three Central Group fixtures at Blackfinch New Road over the August Bank Holiday weekend.

After an away trip to face Glamorgan at Sophia Gardens on Thursday 27 September, the Rapids will host Northants Steelbacks on Saturday 29 August and then Gloucestershire two days later on Monday 31 August.

The Rapids won the competition for the first time in 2018 and came within a whisker of repeating that splendid achievement last summer when they finished runners-up to Essex Eagles.

Coupled with their progress in the Royal London One-Day Cup, the Rapids have established themselves as one of the most successful white-ball sides in the country.

The eagerly awaited derby meetings with local rivals Birmingham Bears will both take place in mid-September and within the space of five days.

The Rapids will entertain the Bears on Sunday 13 September and then make the trip to Edgbaston for a return encounter on Friday 18 September.

The Rapids will also appear at Edgbaston for their ‘home’ fixture against Somerset on Thursday 4 September as part of a Sky Sports double header which will also feature Northants Steelbacks versus Glamorgan.

VITALITY BLAST FIXTURES 2020

Thursday 27 August – Glamorgan (Sophia Gardens) – 18.30
Saturday 29 August– Northamptonshire Steelbacks (Blackfinch New Road) – 13.00
Monday 31 August – Gloucestershire (Blackfinch New Road) – 1300
Thursday 3 September – Somerset (at Edgbaston Stadium) – time TBC
Friday 4 September – Gloucestershire (The County Ground, Bristol) – 14.00
Friday 11 September – Somerset (The Cooper Associates County Ground) – 18.30
Sunday 13 September – Birmingham Bears (Blackfinch New Road) – 13.00
Tuesday 15 September – Northamptonshire Steelbacks (The County Ground, Northampton) – 18.30
Friday 18 September – Birmingham Bears (Edgbaston Stadium) – 18.30
Sunday 20 September – Glamorgan (Blackfinch New Road) – 13.00