Friday, July 3rd, 2015

Pepsi Says No-One Under-Estimates The Rapids Ahead Of Outlaws Return

Pepsi Says No-One Under-Estimates The Rapids Ahead Of Outlaws Return

Worcestershire Rapids batsman Tom Kohler-Cadmore believes that "no-one is under-estimating us anymore" in NatWest T20 Blast cricket.

The Rapids, who are lying second in the North Group, return to action this evening against Notts Outlaws at Trent Bridge, looking to bounce back from the two run defeat against Northamptonshire Steelbacks.

Then on Sunday they have a home clash with Durham Jets which is being shown live on Sky Sports with a 2.30pm start.

The Rapids are one of only two sides not to have reached finals day but have appeared in the quarter-finals in two of the past three seasons.

Kohler-Cadmore said: "We've beaten Notts before in T20 – and in T20 cricket anyone can beat anyone.

"One knock can really change everything. It doesn't even have to be a big knock, just a 20 off an over maybe.

"No-one is under-estimating us anymore because especially in the last two years we've been there or thereabouts.

"We've got some strong hitters and very skilful bowlers.

"We're in the top two and we've now got to get back on the horse of winning again."

The Rapids will be hoping for a repeat of last year's thrilling game, also shown live on Sky Sports, when some late big hitting from Gareth Andrew and Ross Whiteley ensured victory in a rain-affected match of 13 overs per side.

Worcestershire Director of Cricket Steve Rhodes will be forced to make one change from the side edged out by the Steelbacks.

Moeen Ali, who has played in the last six games, has now linked up with England for the first Ashes Test at Cardiff next week.

Richard Oliver was the regular opener until Moeen was allowed to return to his county throughout June.

The former Shropshire captain has not played in the last three T20 Blast matches with Brett D'Oliveira returning to the side.

Notts Outlaws won the televised clash between the two sides at New Road last month.

Rapids (provisional squad): Daryl Mitchell, Richard Oliver, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Colin Munro, Brett D'Oliveira, Ross Whiteley, Ben Cox, Ed Barnard, Joe Leach, Jack Shantry, Saeed Ajmal, Alexei Kervezee.