Thursday, November 7th, 2019


Pat Brown will follow a list containing several illustrious names who have played for Melbourne Stars as their overseas players in the Big Bash.

The Worcestershire Rapids paceman will join up with the Stars for the final eight group games of the 2019-2020 tournament.

Lasith Malinga and Kevin Pietersen are amongst the star attractions who have been signed up at various stages by the Stars for the T20 tournament.

Sri Lankan paceman Malinga represented them for three years while England batsman Pietersen was part of the Stars squad for four tournaments.

Brown, currently preparing for England’s fourth T20I against New Zealand in Napier on Friday, will replace South African legend Dale Steyn after the first six group games.

He will be hoping to help the Stars to their first Big Bash title after they finished runners-up in both 2015-2016 and 12 months ago.

They were also beaten in five semi-finals but two years ago picked up the wooden spoon.

Melbourne Stars overseas signings:

Jade Dernbach – (2011–12)

Luke Wright – (2011–18)

Lasith Malinga – (2012–14)

Dimitri Mascarenhas – (2012–13)

Mohammad Hafeez – (2013–14)

Kevin Pietersen – (2014–18)

Sandeep Lamichhane – (2018–present)

Dwayne Bravo – (2018–19)

Liam Plunkett – (2018-2019)

Dale Steyn – (2019-2020)

PAT BROWN – (2019-2020)