Friday, October 3rd, 2014

Paceman Morris Lifts Two Awards To Cap Memorable First Season

Paceman Morris Lifts Two Awards To Cap Memorable First Season

Paceman Charlie Morris capped a memorable first full season for Worcestershire by winning two major club awards.

Morris was voted the Arctic Spas Players' Player Of The Year and also the Young Player Of The Year.

The 22-year-old received the Players' Player award from Dave Martin, president of the club's official main sponsors, Arctic Spas, and the Young Player trophy from county chairman Martyn Price at the player awards evening at New Road.

Hereford born Morris played a major part in helping Worcestershire overcome the retirement of paceman Alan Richardson during the winter and gaining promotion to Division One of the LV = County Championship.

The Oxford MCCU graduate played in all 16 Championship matches and finished with 52 wickets including a career best 5-54 against Derbyshire at Derby.

Director of Cricket Steve Rhodes has constantly praised the attitude and professionalism of Morris and believes he has the potential to be a future England international.

Skipper Daryl Mitchell had a season to remember and won The Dick Lygon Award which is awarded to the best team player, embracing all forms of cricket, who has also made significant contributions off the pitch.

The award takes the form of a set of silver buttons bearing the Beauchamp crest, the crest of the Lygon family, which are incorporated into a specially tailored blazer.

Mitchell scored more than 1,300 Championship runs, was also the county's leading run scorer in the NatWest T20 Blast and led a young side to promotion.

There was also an award for Morris's new ball partner Jack Shantry who also played all 16 Championship games and was rewarded with 56 wickets.

Shantry collected the Kenyon Award which honours the player who produced the best performance to enable Worcestershire to win a match.

His stunning display with bat and ball against Surrey to seal promotion in the County Championship was a natural choice.

Shantry scored his maiden first class century – 101 not out off 89 balls – and returned match bowling figures of 10-131 to rescue a lost looking cause at New Road.

It reminded Rhodes of Ian Botham's 1981 Headingley Ashes heroics.

The inaugral Foster Trophy, for the Damian D'Oliveira Academy Player Of The Year Award went to young wicket-keeper Alex Milton who impressed for the Second Eleven.

The trophy is a bronze of former Worcestershire captain RE 'Tip' Foster – the only person to skipper England at football and cricket – and was launched this year to mark the centenary of his death from diabetes.

By a quirk of fate 18-year-old Milton was educated at Malvern College and went to the No 5 house which is where all the Fosters were educated.

Cynthia Crawford & Ann Fraser from the Supporters Association presented a cheque of £5000 to new Academy coach Elliot Wilson for the Worcestershire CCC Academy Programme

The EBC Group T20 Player Of The Year award went to Ross Whiteley after his hurricane unbeaten 84 off 38 balls with nine sixes against his former club Derbyshire sealed a quarter-final spot.

He also picked up the BBC Hereford-Worcester almost lost for words Award!

The Cricket Society Champagne Moment award went to wicket-keeper Ben Cox for his stunning one-handed catch high and away to his right to dismiss Gloucestershire skipper Michael Klinger at Cheltenham off a rapid Mitchell McClenaghan delivery.

Cox was also strongly in the running for the Fans Forum Fielder Of The Year Award but was just edged out by Alexei Kervezee whose run out of Surrey's Zafar Ansari clinched promotion.

Second team paceman Graeme Whiles collected the inaugral Community Award in recognition of his stream of good work in promoting Worcestershire CCC in the local community.

Worcestershire business director Jon Graham presented a canvas and framed signed shirt to Arctic Spas David Martin, president of the club's official main sponsor.

Skipper Daryl Mitchell presented signed shirts to players sponsors:

* Craig Barry (Greene King)

* Mandy TBC (Universal Display)

* Sue Griffiths (Worcester News)

* Antony Gillgrass (Kings School)

* Phillip Shaw (WCCC Fans Forum)

* Kevin Savage (Venutec)

* Rob March (Beard)

* Heath Thomas (Harrison Clark)