Monday, May 23rd, 2022


Worcestershire pace bowler, Ben Gibbon, has been selected for the County Select XI squad to play New Zealand in a four-day match at the Cloud County Ground, Chelmsford, from Thursday (May 26).

Gibbon signed his first professional cricket contract last autumn after a successful trial for Worcestershire in a Seconds game at Scarborough.

He has impressed during the winter programme, pre-season and in the Seconds fine start to the 2022 campaign.

It led to him making his LV=Insurance County Championship debut in the matches with Durham at New Road and Derbyshire at the Incora County Ground. 

Worcestershire Cricket Steering Group Chairman, Paul Pridgeon, said: “We are delighted that Ben has been given this opportunity. 

“He has seized the opportunity to be a professional cricketer with both hands, works hard and wants to learn and has created a good impression with all the coaches.”

Ollie Robinson and Robinson and Dom Sibley are the two England capped players in a 12-man squad that will be overseen by ECB Elite Performance Pathway Coach Richard Dawson.

Kent opening batter Ben Compton, who leads the run-scoring in Division One of the LV= Insurance County Championship this season with 878, has been rewarded with a place following his start to the summer.

The squad was selected from the pool of available players following consultation with the first-class counties. 

Richard Dawson said: “We have selected a strong squad of players who are in form and who deserve the opportunity to test themselves against high-class international opposition.

“Matches like this provide a valuable opportunity to see how the selected players handle a step up from county ranks and I am looking forward to working alongside them.

“I would also like to thank the first-class counties for their collaborative approach during a busy period.” 

County Select XI squad: Jack Blatherwick (Lancashire), Michael Burgess (Warwickshire), Ben Compton (Kent), Ben Gibbon (Worcestershire), Nick Gubbins (Hampshire), Tom Haines (Sussex), Lyndon James (Nottinghamshire), Ryan Patel (Surrey), Liam Patterson-White (Nottinghamshire), Jamie Porter (Essex), Ollie Robinson (Sussex), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire).