Tuesday, February 23rd, 2021


Moeen Ali will captain Birmingham Phoenix when they launch their campaign in The Hundred with a home match on 23 July.

The Worcestershire CCC and England all-rounder and County team-mate Pat Brown will be part of the squad to battle with London Spirit at Edgbaston.

Moeen will be returning to the ground where he led Worcestershire Rapids to Vitality Blast title glory in 2018 – a success in which Pat Brown also played a massive role with 31 wickets in the competition.

Other Phoenix squad members include Moeen’s England team-mate Chris Woakes and Australian spinner Adam Zampa while amongst those in the Spirit squad are Pakistan paceman Mohammad Amir, England quick Mark Wood and Australian batsman Glenn Maxwell.

Worcestershire Women’s Rapids player Emily Arlott will be a member of the Phoenix squad to take on the Spirit at the same venue on the same date in the women’s competition.

New Road team-mates Ben Cox (Trent Rockets) and Ross Whiteley (Southern Brave) could potentially face each other in their opening match in The Hundred.

The two teams will do battle at Trent Bridge on 24 July.

Other Rockets include England Test captain Joe Root, paceman Luke Wood, who part of the Rapids 2018 Blast side on loan from Nottinghamshire, and Afghanistan leg spinner, Rashid Khan.

Andre Russell, who had a spell with the Rapids in T20 cricket, England pace star Jofra Archer and T20 specialist Tymal Mills, are part of the Brave squad.

The Hundred will make history in its opening fixture as it launches with a women’s match. 

The action-packed new 100-ball competition – designed to open cricket up to more families and young people – will start with Oval Invincibles hosting Manchester Originals at the Kia Oval on Wednesday 21 July before the same two men’s sides follow suit the following day.

It will be the first time a major UK team sporting event has launched men’s and women’s competitions alongside each other and headlined with a women’s match. The match will be televised live on Sky and BBC.

Beth Barrett-Wild, Head of The Hundred Women’s Competition, said: “Opening The Hundred with a standalone women’s match represents a historic moment, not just for cricket and women’s cricket, but more widely for sport. 

“We are really proud to be able to make this announcement, and I cannot wait to see our brilliant female players walk out at the Kia Oval on 21 July.

The schedule really epitomises how The Hundred is changing the game – putting gender-balance at its heart and presenting men and women on the same platform, with the same scale of ambition from the very start.” 

The Hundred aims to make cricket more accessible to families and young people by fusing world-class, fast-paced cricket with family-friendly entertainment off the pitch. It features eight brand new teams based in Birmingham, Cardiff, Leeds, Manchester, Nottingham, Southampton and two in London.

The entire competition, including all men’s and women’s games, will be broadcast live on Sky. The Hundred will also be covered extensively across the BBC, including live television coverage of 10 men’s games and up to eight live women’s matches, including The Hundred Final and the women’s opening game.

After the opening two matches, the rest of the schedule will see the men’s and women’s teams both playing on the same day, at the same venue, with the ambition to elevate women’s cricket through The Hundred. 

Tickets for The Hundred will go on sale to those signed up at thehundred.com through a priority window on 07 April, with general sale beginning on 21 April. Affordability for families has been prioritised with tickets for U16s at £5 and adult tickets starting at £10 for two games (women’s and men’s match) while kids U5 go free. Refund policies will be in place if Covid impacts fixtures.

Full list of fixtures (all are both men’s and women’s matches unless stated)

21 July Oval Invincibles v Manchester Originals (women’s), Kia Oval

22 July Oval Invincibles v Manchester Originals (men’s), Kia Oval

23 July Birmingham Phoenix v London Spirit, Edgbaston

24 July Trent Rockets v Southern Brave, Trent Bridge

Northern Superchargers v Welsh Fire, Emerald Headingley 

25 July London Spirit v Oval Invincibles, Lord’s 

Manchester Originals v Birmingham Phoenix, Emirates Old Trafford 

26 July Trent Rockets v Northern Superchargers, Trent Bridge 

27 July Welsh Fire v Southern Brave, Sophia Gardens

28 July Manchester Originals v Northern Superchargers, Emirates Old Trafford 

29 July London Spirit v Trent Rockets, Lord’s

30 July Southern Brave v Birmingham Phoenix, Ageas Bowl 

31 July Welsh Fire v Manchester Originals, Sophia Gardens 

Northern Superchargers v Oval Invincibles, Emerald Headingley 

01 August Birmingham Phoenix v Trent Rockets, Edgbaston

London Spirit v Southern Brave, Lord’s 

02 August Oval Invincibles v Welsh Fi, Kia Oval 

03 August London Spirit v Northern Superchargers, Lord’s 

04 August Birmingham Phoenix v Oval Invincibles, Edgbaston 

05 August Manchester Originals v Southern Brave, Emirates Old Trafford 

06 August Welsh Fire v Trent Rockets, Sophia Gardens 

07 August Southern Brave v Northern Superchargers, Ageas Bowl 

08 August Oval Invincibles v Trent Rockets, Kia Oval 

09 August Birmingham Phoenix v Welsh Fire, Edgbaston 

10 August Manchester Originals v London Spirit, Emirates Old Trafford 

11 August Southern Brave v Welsh Fire, Ageas Bowl 

12 August Northern Superchargers v Manchester Originals, Emerald Headingley 

13 August Trent Rockets v Birmingham Phoenix, Trent Bridge 

14 August Oval Invincibles v London Spirit, Kia Oval 

15 August Trent Rockets v Manchester Originals, Trent Bridge 

16 August Southern Brave v Oval Invincibles, Ageas Bowl 

17 August Northern Superchargers v Birmingham Phoenix, Emerald Headingley 

18 August Welsh Fire v London Spirit, Sophia Gardens 

20 August Women’s and Men’s Eliminator, Kia Oval 

21 August Men’s and Women’s Finals, Lord’s