Wednesday, August 31st, 2016

Moeen Returns To England T20 Squad For Pakistan Contest At Old Trafford

Moeen Returns To England T20 Squad For Pakistan Contest At Old Trafford

Moeen Ali has been recalled to England's T20I squad for the NatWest IT20 match against Pakistan at Emirates Old Trafford on Wednesday, September 7 (6.30pm start).

The Worcestershire all-rounder was rested along with Alex Hales and Joe Root for the game against Sri Lanka at the Ageas Bowl last month.

But all three are recalled to a squad including nine of the players who helped England to an eight wicket victory over the Sri Lankans.

The Durham pair of Ben Stokes and Mark Wood also return.

Stokes is in line to make his first IT20 appearance since the ICC World T20 final in February against the West Indies.

Wood, who has returned to full fitness at international level during the current Royal London One-Day International series against Pakistan, will be looking to add to his solitary T20 cap, which came against New Zealand in June 2015.

The Hampshire pairing of Liam Dawson and James Vince miss out along with Middlesex batsman Dawid Malan and Yorkshire’s Jonny Bairstow.

National Selector, James Whitaker, said: “It is excellent to see the progress we are making in white ball cricket across both formats. The IT20 international against Pakistan will give the squad another opportunity to measure their development.

“The squad has an exciting feel with exceptional talent throughout. We are delighted to welcome back Ben Stokes and Mark Wood into the squad. Both are world-class players and are an important part of our long-term plans to become the best side in the world.

“It is testament to the excellent work being nurtured in the county structure and through the England Lions, that there is a depth of quality pushing the nucleus of the current group.

“On behalf of the selectors, I would like to wish Eoin Morgan and Trevor Bayliss all the very best for what I’m sure will be a very competitive and entertaining match in Manchester.”

England T20 Squad

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (Capt.)

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

Sam Billings (Kent)

Jos Buttler (Lancashire)

Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)

Chris Jordan (Sussex)

Tymal Mills (Sussex)

Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire)

Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)

Joe Root (Yorkshire)

Jason Roy (Surrey)

Ben Stokes (Durham)

David Willey (Yorkshire)

Mark Wood (Durham)