Wednesday, July 1st, 2015

Moeen Included In Squad For First Ashes Test At Cardiff

Moeen Included In Squad For First Ashes Test At Cardiff

Moeen Ali is on the verge of playing his first Ashes Test after being included in the squad for the Investec opener at SSE SWALEC, Cardiff on July 8.

The Worcestershire star and Yorkshire's Adil Rashid are the two main spinning options in the 13 man squad.

Moeen has been part of England's training camp in Spain ahead of the series with Michael Clarke's side.

He had played in two LV = County Championship and six NatWest T20 Blast matches for Worcestershire during June to prepare for the international battles ahead.

Seven squad members – Moeen, Gary Ballance, Jos Buttler, Adam Lyth, Rashid, Ben Stokes and Mark Wood – are yet to play in a home Ashes series.

Ian Bell will be playing in his seventh consecutive Ashes series while Rashid is the only player in the squad uncapped at Test level.

National selector, James Whitaker, said: “There are no huge surprises in the squad. Adil Rashid’s inclusion provides Alastair and Trevor with plenty of bowling options and the surface at Cardiff will dictate who makes the final XI.

“Within the squad there are players who have plenty of experience of Ashes cricket and that knowledge will I’m sure be useful for the players who are yet to experience a home Ashes series.

“There has been some very good cricket played so far this summer and we are aware that we will need to build on that over the next seven weeks if we are to win back the Ashes.

“On behalf of the selectors I’d like to congratulate the 13 players selected for the first Investec Test and wish them as well as Trevor all the very best for what will I’m sure be a very competitive and entertaining series.”

England squad for 1st Investec Ashes Test

Alastair Cook (Essex)

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

James Anderson (Lancashire)

Gary Ballance (Yorkshire)

Ian Bell (Warwickshire)

Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)

Jos Buttler (Lancashire)

Steven Finn (Middlesex)

Adam Lyth (Yorkshire)

Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)

Joe Root (Yorkshire)

Ben Stokes (Durham)

Mark Wood (Durham)