Sunday, August 31st, 2014

Moeen Included In England T20 Squad To Face India

Moeen Included In England T20 Squad To Face India

Moeen Ali has been included in the England squad for the NatWest International T20 match against India at Edgbaston on Sunday, September 7.

The Worcestershire all-rounder is part of a 14 strong squad which includes one uncapped player in Surrey's Jason Roy.

Moeen made his T20 debut for his country in the West Indies last winter, playing in two of the three internationals, before being part of the squad for the ICC World T20 tournament in Bangladesh.

He is currently part of the squad for the Royal London One-Day Series against India who lead 2-0 with two matches to play after the opening game at Bristol was washed out.

The T20 international is two days before Worcestershire entertain Surrey in the LV = County Championship at New Road.

Moeen has expressed his desire to finish the season with Worcestershire if he is allowed to by England.

Roy has represented England Lions this summer and helped Surrey Lions reach finals day in the NatWest T20 Blast after scoring a half century in the quarter-final win over Worcestershire Rapids at the Kia Oval.

Roy, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan and James Taylor are the four players in the squad not involved in the current Royal London ODI series.

Eoin Morgan will lead the side in the absence of Stuart Broad who is undergoing surgery on his right knee this week.

National Selector, James Whitaker, said: “This one off NatWest International T20 provides us with an opportunity to look at players who have impressed recently in domestic cricket and gives them a chance to test themselves on the international stage against high quality opposition."

England NatWest T20 squad

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (Capt)

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

Ravi Bopara (Essex)

Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)

Jos Buttler (Lancashire)

Steven Finn (Middlesex)

Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire)

Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)

Chris Jordan (Sussex)

Joe Root (Yorkshire)

Jason Roy (Surrey)

James Taylor (Nottinghamshire)

James Tredwell (Kent)

Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)