Tuesday, July 21st, 2015

Moeen Included For Third Test As Bairstow Earns Recall After Ton Versus Worcs

Moeen Included For Third Test As Bairstow Earns Recall After Ton Versus Worcs

Moeen Ali has been named in a 13 man Engand squad for the third Investec Ashes Test at Edgbaston beginning on July 29.

The Worcestershire all-rounder has played in the opening two Tests of the five game series which stands at 1-1.

There is one change to the squads for the first two Tests with Jonny Bairstow coming in to the 13 in place of fellow Yorkshire player Gary Ballance.

Bairstow has played 14 Tests in his career to date with his last appearance coming in 2014 against Australia in Sydney.

He confirmed his current fine form with a century on the opening day of the current LV = County Championship match with Worcestershire at Scarborough.

National selector, James Whitaker, said: “The break ahead of the third Test will give the squad time to reflect on series so far and a chance to focus on playing the positive, confident cricket we saw in Cardiff.

“For the third Test Ian Bell will move up the order to bat at three followed by Joe Root with Jonny Bairstow coming in at five.

"Jonny has worked extremely hard at his game and his record for Yorkshire speaks for itself. He fully deserves this opportunity.

“Gary was naturally disappointed to miss out on this occasion however we feel that he will benefit from some time in county cricket to rediscover his form.

"He has already had plenty of success at international level and as selectors we are confident Gary will play a significant role for England in the future.

“On behalf of the selectors I’d like to wish Alastair, Trevor and the squad all the very best for what will I’m sure be an entertaining and competitive Test next week.”

England squad for 3rd Investec Ashes Test

Alastair Cook (Essex)

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

James Anderson (Lancashire)

Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire)

Ian Bell (Warwickshire)

Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)

Jos Buttler (Lancashire)

Steven Finn (Middlesex)

Adam Lyth (Yorkshire)

Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)

Joe Root (Yorkshire)

Ben Stokes (Durham)

Mark Wood (Durham)