Wednesday, November 12th, 2014

Moeen Geared Up For Winter Of Odi Cricket Ahead Of World Cup

Moeen Geared Up For Winter Of Odi Cricket Ahead Of World Cup

Moeen Ali is gearing up for his first year as a centrally contracted player with England via a sequence of at least 11 successive One-Day Internationals ahead of the World Cup in February.

The Worcestershire all-rounder will depart with his team-mates this coming Sunday (November 16) for a series of seven ODIs in Sri Lanka.

England are poised to return to action on Friday week (November 21) with a warm-up game against Sri Lanka 'A' in Colombo.

There will be another match against the same opposition in Colombo two days later before the opening ODI on November 26.

England then take on Australia and India in a triangular tournament Down Under in January February which will involve at least four ODIs – with the top two contesting the final.

The World Cup gets underway for England against Australia in Melbourne on February 14.

It will be April before Moeen has the chance to return to Test action when England visit the West Indies.

He played all seven Tests during the summer of 2014 – two versus Sri Lanka and five against India.

Moeen said: "I don't like to look too far ahead. Hopefully we can do well as a team in these one-dayers.

"It's all about doing well as a team and progressing as a team. Hopefully we can go one game at a time and just build on into the World Cup."


November 26 – Colombo

November 29 – Colombo

December 3 – Hambantota

December 7 – Colombo

December 10 – Pallekele

December 13 – Pallekele

December 16 – Colombo.


January 18 – Sydney (v Australia)

January 20 Brisbane (v India)

January 23 – Hobart (v Australia)

January 30 – Perth (v India)

February 1 – Perth (final).

The England squad for Sri Lanka is:

Alastair Cook (Essex) (captain)

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

Ian Bell (Warwickshire)

Ravi Bopara (Essex)

Jos Buttler (Lancashire)

Steven Finn (Middlesex)

Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire)

Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)

Chris Jordan (Sussex)

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)

Joe Root (Yorkshire)

Ben Stokes (Durham)

James Taylor (Nottinghamshire)

James Tredwell (Kent)

Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).