Friday, October 8th, 2021


Worcestershire Rapids Vitality Blast captain Moeen Ali has secured one of the 20 annual ‘single’ contracts issued by the ECB under the new system.

Previously there was a separation of red ball and white ball contracts which was introduced in 2016.

Moeen became the first ever Worcestershire player to receive a Central Contract in September 2014 after making an immediate impact following his breakthrough into the England side earlier that year.

He has earned one ever since and is part of the England squad for the forthcoming ICC T20 World Cup in Dubai later this month.

The new system has been developed working in consultation with the players, Team England Player Partnership (TEPP) and the Professional Cricketers’ Association (PCA). It is designed to meet England’s future needs in what has become a fluid and dynamic landscape.

The system considers the likelihood of players featuring in England teams across formats in the next 12 months, whilst also recognising performances in the preceding year.

Considerations were also agreed against a busy international schedule, made challenging by additional Covid-related constraints, and taking into account the mental wellbeing and welfare of the players.

In addition to the 20 Central Contracts, awards have been made for Increment Contracts and Pace Bowling Development Contracts. This structure recognises players that may feature for England on a less predictable basis and supports developing and managing high potential pace bowlers across all formats.

The contracts, which cover a 12-month period commencing 1 October 2021, have been awarded to the following players:

England Men’s Central Contracts
Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jofra Archer (Sussex)
Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Rory Burns (Surrey)
Jos Buttler (Lancashire)
Zak Crawley (Kent)
Sam Curran (Surrey)
Jack Leach (Somerset)
Dawid Malan (Yorkshire)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Ollie Pope (Surrey)
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
Ollie Robinson (Sussex)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Jason Roy (Surrey)
Ben Stokes (Durham)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)
Mark Wood (Durham)

England Increment Contracts
Dom Bess (Yorkshire)
Tom Curran (Surrey)
Chris Jordan (Surrey)
Liam Livingstone (Lancashire)

England Pace Bowling Development Contracts
Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire)
Craig Overton (Somerset)
Olly Stone (Warwickshire)