Sunday, July 20th, 2014

Mason “excited” By Mcclenaghan Bowling Ahead Of Championship Debut

Mason “excited” By Mcclenaghan Bowling Ahead Of Championship Debut

Mitchell McClenaghan is poised to make his LV = County Championship debut for Worcestershire in tomorrow's Division Two clash with Gloucestershire at Cheltenham with bowling coach Matt Mason "excited" about what he brings to the team.

The New Zealand paceman is named in a 12 man squad by Director of Cricket Steve Rhodes which also includes spinner Brett D'Oliveira.

McClenaghan's inclusion as overseas player in place of Saeed Ajmal will mean the county having a four man pace attack with Jack Shantry, Charlie Morris and Joe Leach all having made significant contributions.

Mason said: "Mitch does bring something different. The other three seamers are quite similar in what they try and do so Mitch is different to them.

"I think it is important to exploit that. I've been on the receiving end of a few sessions from him with the ball when I've been taking the nets in the mornings and I'm excited to watch him bowl.

"I think he will be a great foil, especially on flat pitches, where normally we've relied on Saeed.

"He's got the raw pace and aggression and I think he will be a great attribute to our four day side – as well as our T20.

"He is experienced from here before with Lancashire, he's got some great ideas, he knows his game and we are looking forward to unleashing him on a few people."

Ajmal's departure will put more emphasis on Shaaiq Choudhry in the role of spinner but Mason has faith in his ability.

He said: "Shaaiq has been going really well the last couple of seasons but he is in a difficult position as the second or third spinner. It can be frustrating.

"But we are confident in Shaaiq's ability. He has shown us before. If you remember Old Trafford a year ago when it was spinning up there, he did really well.

"We are hopeful he can come into our team and again strengthen our bowling ranks."

Leaders Worcestershire will be bidding to maintain their unbeaten record in the Championship this season and aiming for a fourth successive win after defeating Leicestershire (twice) and Glamorgan.

Worcestershire (from): Mitchell, Oliver, Fell, Kervezee, Kohler-Cadmore, Cox, Leach, Choudhry, Shantry, Morris, McClenaghan, D'Oliveira.