Thursday, May 12th, 2016

Malik Hits Maiden Hundred For Worcs Seconds

Malik Hits Maiden Hundred For Worcs Seconds

Zen Malik scored his maiden century for Worcestershire Seconds to spearhead an excellent fightback on day three of the clash with Warwickshire Seconds at Barnt Green.

The Worcestershire Academy player helped rescue the Seconds from 10-3 after they had chosen to bat with skipper George Rhodes, Ollie Westbury and Alexei Kervezee all falling cheaply.

The 18-year-old share in a fourth wicket stand of 154 with Alex Hepburn (60) and then added a further 70 with triallist Adeel Shafique (45).

Malik, who was born in Stoke-on-Trent, secured a three year scholarship at Malvern College in 2011.

He had previously been a pupil at Thistley Hough High School in Penkhull and played for Maddershall – the same team as his father Khalid.

Malik was eventually dismissed for 112 but then Ben Twohig followed up his 99 against Leicestershire Seconds at Oakham last week with an unbeaten 51.

He added an unbroken 43 with Chris Russell (30 not out) as Worcestershire closed on 357-7. It was a fine effort against a strong Bears attack.

Both sides were delighted to taste some action after the opening two days were washed out and a wet outfield meant there was no play before lunch today.


George Rhodes* c AJ Mellor b CJC Wright 3

Ollie Westbury lbw b OJ Hannon-Dalby 1

Alexei Kervezee run out (CJC Wright) 2

Alex Hepburn b OJ Hannon-Dalby 60

Zen Malik st AJ Mellor b JE Poysden 112

Adeel Shafique c WTS Porterfield b RO Gordon 45

Ben Twohig not out 51

Ben Tegg+ c JE Poysden b LJ Evans 19

Chris Russell not out 30

Charlie Morris

Matthew King

Extras b10 lb5 w1 nb18 pen0 34

Total (88.0 overs) 357-7

FOW: 1-6 2-10 3-10 4-164 5-234 6-269 7-314


CJC Wright 19.0 3 79 1

OJ Hannon-Dalby 20.0 7 60 2

RA Jones 13.0 1 66 0

AD Thomason 6.0 1 24 0

RO Gordon 11.0 2 48 1

JE Poysden 16.0 1 57 1

LJ Evans 3.0 0 8 1


Andrew Umeed

William Porterfield

Laurie Evans

Freddie Coleman*

Jonathon Webb

Alex Mellor+

Aaron Thomason

Richard Jones

Oliver Hannon-Dalby

Chris Wright

Josh Poysden