Monday, September 27th, 2021


Jake Libby and Brett D’Oliveira won five awards between them when Worcestershire CCC staged their end of Season Presentation Evening at New Road on Saturday evening.

Opening batsman Libby lifted the prestigious Dick Lygon Award, which recognises achievements and contributions on and off the field.

He was also voted the Players’ Player Of The Year with his team-mates choosing their top performer of the season.

Libby scored 1,075 runs in the LV=Insurance County Championship – the second-highest tally in the entire competition – and made significant contributions in the Vitality Blast and Royal London Cup.

He has also made a positive impact in the dressing room since his move from Nottinghamshire two years ago, and this summer was appointed red ball vice-captain.

D’Oliveira scooped a trio of awards – the Supporters’ Association Player Of The Year, the T20 Player Of The Year and the Fans Forum Fielder Of The Year Award.

He became an integral member of the red ball attack for most of the season alongside the four-pronged pace attack with his tight control and ability to pick up important wickets.

In addition, D’Oliveira was the Rapids leading run-scorer and most economical bowler in the Vitality Blast and their second-highest scorer in the Royal London Cup.

The Worcestershire Cricket Society Moment Of The Year Award went to Dillon Pennington for his sensational burst of 4-0 in the Vitality Blast game against Yorkshire at Headingley.

The Kenyon Award for the best match performance during the 2021 season went to Jack Haynes for his 153 off 128 balls against Essex at Chelmsford in the Royal London Cup – his maiden century for Worcestershire.

The David Exall Award went to Mike Hitchings, who has been a Worcestershire CCC supporter for 60 years and is currently Secretary of The Worcestershire Cricket Society.