Friday, November 11th, 2016

Kohler-Cadmore Honoured For Fastest Century Of 2016 Season

Kohler-Cadmore Honoured For Fastest Century Of 2016 Season

Worcestershire batsman Tom Kohler-Cadmore's father Mick and mother Annette collected the Walter Lawrence Trophy on his behalf for scoring the fastest hundred of the 2016 domestic season at the presentation dinner held in the Long Room at Lord's.

Mick received the trophy – along with the prize money of £3,000 and a medallion – from former Middlesex captain and Test Match Special commentator Ed Smith.

Now in its 82nd year, the Walter Lawrence Trophy, awarded for the fastest hundred of the season, is open to all domestic county competitions as well as One-Day Internationals, T20 Internationals and Test Matches in England.

Kohler-Cadmore lifted the award for his 43 ball century in the Rapids opening NatWest T20 Blast fixture of the summer against Durham Jets at New Road.

He produced an awesome display of hitting and his ton included five sixes and 13 fours.

It helped the Rapids to total a massive 225-6 in their 20 overs and eventally triumph by 38 runs.

In total, Kohler-Cadmore scored 127 from 54 deliveries with eight sixes and 14 fours – the County's highest ever individual T20 score.

The 22-year-old becomes the third Worcestershire player to lift the Walter Lawrence Trophy after Graeme Hick in 1988 and Vikram Solanki in 2009.

Hick hit the fastest ton in a County Championsnhip match versus Surrey at The Oval and Solanki in a T20 fixture against Glamorgan at New Road.

Other Worcestershire players in Basil D'Oliveira (1967) and Tom Graveney (1968) collected the trophy BUT for exploits with England against India at Leeds and West Indies in Port Of Spain respectively in those years.

The 2016 women’s award went to Tammy Beaumont – for England Women v Pakistan Women – and the MCC Universities winner was Robbie White – for Loughborough MCCU v Leeds/Bradford MCCU. The schools award winner was Tom Haines.

The evening was overseen by former Kent all-rounder Matthew Fleming who is the current president of the MCC and himself a one-time winner of the Walter Lawrence Trophy.