Friday, July 12th, 2019


Josh Tongue and Ben Twohig presented the ‘Sports Personality Of The Year’ award – sponsored by Worcestershire County Cricket Club – at the ninth Malvern Hills District Community Sports Awards evening.

Worcestershire paceman Josh and spinner Ben were delighted to hand the award to winner Ellen Cochrane with the runners-up being Esme Ruff and Harriet Harnden.

It was one of 12 awards presented on the evening attended by nearly 200 people at the Bank House Hotel in Bransford.

The Malvern Hills District Community Sports Awards reward and recognise the area’s best sports men and women, as well as the commitment of the volunteers and coaches who support athletes and clubs across the district.

The awards were announced by compere, Andrew Easton, Radio Presenter for BBC Hereford and Worcester and Amanda Smith, Community Services Manager at Malvern Hills District Council, spoke of the council’s sporting success and projects over the last 12 months.

This year, the keynote speaker was Paralympian Mel Nicholls who is a wheelchair racer, endurance hand cyclist and adventurer.

Mel told her inspiring story, including her successful world record attempt to become the fastest person to hand cycle from Land’s End to John O’Groats in June this year.

Cllr Tom Wells, Portfolio Holder for Community Services on Malvern Hills District Council, said:“The sports awards were a spectacular success and a great opportunity to celebrate the achievements of some of the district’s most talented sports-people, coaches and volunteers.

“We should be extremely proud of our inspirational residents who are out there making a difference to people’s health and well-being through sport.”

The full list of winners is:

1.      Community Project of the Year – (Sponsored by Sports Partnership Herefordshire and Worcestershire)

Winner: The Friday NightProject

Runners up: MTFC Junior Club Matchday Experience / Pendock Spring Chicken Run

2.      Inclusive Project of the Year– (Sponsored by Three Counties Showground)

Winner: L&BBFC Inclusivity & Increased Participation Project

Runner up: Swim Inspiration

3.      Sports Schools of the Year– (Sponsored by Rural South Worcestershire Community Safety Partnership)

Winner: Tenbury CofE Primary Academy

Runner up: Pendock Primary School

4.      Team of the Year – (Sponsored by Automated Packaging Systems)

Winner: Motionesque

Runner up: L&BBFC U12 Saints

5.      Coach of the Year– (Sponsored by Malvern Hills District Council)

Winner: Gemma Hinton

Runners up: Adele Hodges / Jazz Kristy

6.      Club of the Year– (Sponsored by Fortis Living)

Winner: Malvern Buzzards Running Club

Runners up: Kempsey Tennis Club / Leigh & Bransford Badgers Football Club

7.      Positive Change of the Year– (Sponsored by YMCA Worcestershire)

Winner: Nicola Turrell

Runner up: Bronwen Matthews

8.      Volunteer of the Year– (Sponsored by  Melton Group)

Winner: Bradley Barnes

Runner up: Simeon Foreman

9.      Young Female Sports Personality of the Year– (Sponsored by Malvern Panalytical)

Winner: Bryony Heasman

Runners up: Charlotte Martin/ Sarah-Jane Ollis

10.  Young Male Sports Personality of the Year– (Sponsored by Cue Events)

Winner: Malachi Cashmore

Runner up: Charlie Bennett / Daniel Day

11.  Sports Personality of the Year– (Sponsored by Worcestershire County Cricket Club)

Winner: Ellen Cochrane

Runner up: Esme Ruff / Harriet Harnden

12.  Unsung Hero of the Year – (Sponsored by Freedom Leisure)

Joint winners: Lisa Stride-Turner / Peter Daffin