Tuesday, August 14th, 2018

Jenkins Elected As Association Chairman For Third Successive Term

Jenkins Elected As Association Chairman For Third Successive Term

Andrew Jenkins has been elected chairman of the Worcestershire Supporters’ Association for a third successive term.

Jenkins was re-elected for 2018-2019 by members when the Association held their Annual General Meeting.

He took over the post in 2016 after the death of long-serving chairman Ken Mills.

Also elected to serve for another year were: Cynthia Crawford (president); John Wright (treasurer); Ann Fraser (secretary).

Committee members re-elected were: Richard Stone, Michael Douch and John Curtis.

Jenkins said: “I would like to thank everyone for re-electing me and the Association will continue to promote, support and raise money for Worcestershire County Cricket Club which means so much to all of us.

“It was a year of change for the cricket club with and I would like to wish the new CEO, Matt Rawnsley, and new Head Coach Kevin Sharp all the best.

“We look forward to forging as close a relationship with Matt, a former Worcestershire player but also with an excellent business background, as we did with his predecessor, Tom Scott, who has since become a welcome addition to our committee.

“It was also a year of change for the Association with acquiring a new shop situated in between the Hick Pavilion and Foley’s and we have been delighted with the extra revenue it has so far generated.

“Thanks to everyone who has supported it on matchdays – and also the previous shop located at the back of the Basil D’Oliveira Stand.

“The original plan was to situate the new shop on the Severn side of the ground but the site had to be changed due to planning issues and spiralling costs and hopes of funding from the ECB were not forthcoming.

“Other fund raising activities during 2017 included the ever popular Fifty-Fifty competition which attracted over 650 members and a ‘super raffle’ raised additional revenue.

“Two Association luncheons also proved popular although the ‘Christmas’ one had to be held in February due to the inclement weather on the original date meant it had to be postponed.

“The funds raised by the Association enabled it in 2017 to help the club including replacing the covers, new sheets to cover the square and a new state of the art mower.

“Members of the Association remains strong with over 800 life members.

“The Association Player Of The Year award went for 2017 to Ed Barnard who polled 50 per cent of the votes by members.

“I would like to thank madam president (Cynthia Crawford) and the Association committee for the help and support they have given me during 2017. Without this help and support, the chairman’s role would be impossible to undertake.

“I would like to single out Dave Kennedy and Richard Stone – Dave for taking charge of the Fifty-Fifty competition and Association calendar, and Richard for his organising the summer and Christmas lunches.”