Monday, September 2nd, 2019


jack haynes has become part of the 10th father and son combination – and the third amongst the current staff at New Road – to have played county championship cricket for worcestershire.

the 18-year-old followed in dad gavin’s footsteps with his maiden championship appearance against northamptonshire at wantage road last month.

he received his county cap at wantage road from moeen ali.

gavin, who is 50 later this month, represented the county from 1991 to 1999, playing in 100 first class and 121 list a games and is now a highly respected coach.

jack’s current New Road team-mate, brett d’oliveira, was part of the previous father and son team to play for worcestershire in the championship.

damian d’oliveira wore the county’s colours from 1982-1995, being part of the second ‘golden’ era of worcestershire cricket.

brett, currently recovering from a thumb injury, made his championship debut seven years ago against warwickshire at edgbaston in august 2012.

the third member of the 2019 staff to qualify as part of the father-son link-up with the county is george rhodes although he is currently on loan at leicestershire before moving permanently.

he made his debut in 2016, 12 years after dad steve hung up his gloves after 20 years as a top notch wicket-keeper-batsman.

damian also qualifies as part of another father and son team after following his dad, basil d’oliveira, into the county eleven.

the legendary basil represented worcestershire from 1964 to 1980 and was part of the first ‘golden’ spell for the county.

the full list of father-son combinations to have played championship cricket for worcestershire are:

george wilson senior (1897-1906) and george wilson junior (1924-1926)

william greenstock (1893-1919) and john greenstock (1924-1927)

henry foster (1890-1925) and christopher foster (1927)

francis summers (1921-1928) and douglas summers (1930)

john lyttelton (1924-25) and charles lyttelton (1932-1948)

edward righton senior (1911-1913) and edward righton junior (1934-1936)

basil d’oliveira (1964-1980) and damian d’oliveira (1992-1995)

steve rhodes (1985-2004) and george rhodes (2016-2019)

damian d’oliveira (1982-1995) and brett d’oliveira (2012- —-)

gavin haynes (1991-1999) and jack haynes (2019 – —-)

*thanks to andrew thomas, author of pears 150 for the above information and his book is still available to purchase on matchdays in the supporters’ association club shop, priced £28.

*jack haynes (cap number 519) incidentally became the sixth player to make their championship bow for worcestershire this season after riki wessels (514), hamish rutherford (515), josh dell (516), callum ferguson (517) and adam finch (518).