Saturday, October 3rd, 2015

Full List Of Worcs Ccc 2015 Gala Evening Award Night Winners

Full List Of Worcs Ccc 2015 Gala Evening Award Night Winners

Here is a full list of the award winners at the Worcestershire CCC Gala Evening-Awards Night staged at New Road last night.


Worcestershire Cricket Society Award

The Cricket Society award for their 'champagne moment' of the season went to Joe Leach for his hat-trick with the first three balls of the game against Northamptonshire at New Road in the Royal London One-Day Cup.

Leach dismissed Richard Levi and Rob Keogh – both caught behind – and then had Ben Duckett caught at gulley and then after that trio of ducks it was a low flying swan which stopped play!

He became the first player in this country – and only the second ever – to take three wickets with the first three balls of a match. The other was ex Worcestershire player Chaminda Vaas.


The Arctic Spas Player's Player

The Arctic Spas Players' Player award was won by Joe Leach after an excellent season with bat and ball.

Leach took 50 Championship wickets for the first time in a season including a career best 6-73 against Warwickshire at Edgbaston.

He also made useful contributions down the order with the bat including 95 in the innings victory over Somerset at New Road. Leach has also been appointed the County's new vice-captain.


The BBC Hereford & Worcester almost lost for words Award

The bottle of champagne for the lost for words award goes to Tom Fell who scored 1,000 Championship runs in a season for the first time but was involved in a bizarre run out incident with Tom Kohler-Cadmore against Durham at the ICG Emirates.

The two Toms both thought a shot from Tom Fell had gone off Paul Collingwood had gone for four and both stopped running.

Unfortunately the ball stopped short of the boundary and Graham Onions threw the ball back to keeper Michael Richardson and then onto Collingwood with Fell out of his ground.


The Fans Forum Fielder of the Year Award

The Trophy goes to Ben Cox who has enjoyed another excellent season behind the stumps and with the bat.

Steve Rhodes described Ben Cox's dismissal of Warwickshire tail-ender Chris Wright at Edgbaston – high away to his right off the bowling of Joe Leach – as "one of the best wicket-keeping catches I've ever seen."

Cox also earned the Champagne Moment award at the county's 2014 awards night for his catch to dismiss Gloucestershire opener Michael Klinger off Mitchell McClenaghan bowling at express pace at Cheltenham last summer.


The Kenyon Award

There is a joint winner of the Kenyon Trophy award – split between skipper Daryl Mitchell and paceman Charlie Morris.

Mitchell has shown a liking for the Hampshire attack in recent seasons and this summer scored a superb 206 not out in the innings victory at New Road.

Morris bowled two excellent new ball spells of 11 overs apiece in another innings victory over Somerset at New Road and finished with career best match figures of 9-109.


The EBC Group T20 Player of the Year

The Glass Trophy went to Ross Whiteley who enjoyed a sensational season in white ball cricket for Worcestershire Rapids.

Whiteley finished as the joint leading six-hitter in the country in the Natwest T20 Blast with 29 sixes, a figure only equalled by Chris Gayle and Luke Wright.

He also produced one of the innings of the summer with his 91 off 35 balls against Yorkshire at Headingley including 11 sixes.


The Young Player of the Year Award

Joe Clarke has been rewarded for his excellent form during the second half of the season with an England Lions call-up and now has also lifted Worcestershire's Young Player Of The Year Award.

Clarke became the first player to score two double hundreds for Worcestershire Seconds and since his elevation to the first team in late June has shown his potential in red ball and white ball cricket.

Nineteen-year-old Joe scored a superb 131 not out off 109 balls against Gloucestershire in the Royal London One-Day Cup and 101 not out against Sussex in the LV = County Championship.


The Damian D'Oliveira Academy Player of the Year Award

Many products of the Worcestershire Acdemy are in the current first team squad with as many as seven or eight reglarly playing regularly.

This season many members of the current Academy intake have been bloodied in the second eleven with the winner of the Foster Trophy & Book for 2015 being batsman Josh Dell who has been a prolific scorer in development programme cricket.


The Dick Lygon Award

This is always regards as one of the most prestigious awards and the Lygon Buttons were awarded to Jack Shantry who again typified the never say die spirit evident amongst the players and staff at New Road.

Shantry once again made a major contribution with the ball, taking 50 plus Championship wickets for the second successive season and ending with 57 in total – just two behind Joe Leach.


Long Service Award

To Director of Cricket Steve Rhodes and Chief Executive David Leatherdale (see separate story).