Wednesday, February 8th, 2023


Former Worcestershire and England spinner, Richard Illingworth, has been named the ICC Umpire Of The Year for the second time.

Illingworth first lifted the award 2019 and has now been rewarded for his outstanding performances during the past 12 months with the 2022 award.

He will pick up the David Shepherd Trophy and the award is a testament to Illingworth’s consistent decision-making and the respect with which he is held amongst players all around the world.

Illingworth took charge of 24 international fixtures last year, including England Men’s Tests against South Africa at Lord’s and Emirates Old Trafford.

He said: “I am very honoured to receive the ICC Umpire Of The Year Award. There have been many people, coaches, colleagues and management who have contributed towards my development over my career both as a player and umpire.

“Their input has been substantial and invaluable and I’m forever grateful to them. I continue to be passionate about cricket and, after many years in the professional game, I will continue to learn and develop.

“I’d also like to thank my family who have given me such great support over the years to enable me to go out and enjoy my umpiring around the world.”

The David Shepherd Trophy is named after the famous and respected English umpire, David Shepherd, and was first awarded in 2004 to Simon Taufel.

In addition to international matches, Illingworth has officiated in many major tournaments around the world, including the IPL.

The ICC Umpire of the Year award is given to an official who has performed exceptionally well throughout the year, as determined by the ICC’s Umpire Performance and Training Manager, and a panel of former elite umpires.

Illingworth received the award after a rigorous evaluation process that took into account a number of factors, including the umpire’s on-field performance, their ability to manage players, and their consistency in making correct decisions.

The 59-year-old is the sixth umpire to win the award more than once.
Illingworth was appointed to the ECB list of first-class umpires in 2006, was promoted to the ICC International list in 2009 and joined the ICC’s elite umpire panel in 2013.

He won nine Test caps for England and also played in 25 ODIs and was a key part of the successful Worcestershire side which won a host of trophies in the late 1980s and early 1990s.

The slow left armer picked up 742 first class wickets for Worcestershire and also 358 List A wickets, a figure only surpassed by Stuart Lampitt (370).

In addition he scored 7,027 first class runs with four centuries and was often an accomplished nightwatchman.