Monday, September 28th, 2015

Ex County Star Lampitt On Short List For Natwest Oscas

Ex County Star Lampitt On Short List For Natwest Oscas

Former Worcestershire paceman Stuart Lampitt is amongst the nominees anounced by the ECB today on the shortlist for the 13th annual NatWest Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards (OSCAs).

Lampitt is nominated for his involvement in the Worcestershire Cricket Board Junior Cricket League and Cup competition.

He was a key member of the Worcestershire side of the late 1980s and 1990s before retiring at the end of the 2002 season.

Twelve NatWest OSCAs will be presented in front of 400 invited guests from the recreational game at a prestigious event hosted by BBC Radio Test Match Special commentator Jonathan Agnew at Lord’s on Monday 12th October.

The NatWest OSCAs were established in 2003 to reward cricket’s unsung heroes and recognise the contributions and efforts of grassroots volunteers from all over England and Wales.

The awards form an integral part of both NatWest and the ECB’s volunteering programmes which give cricket clubs advice on educating, recruiting and rewarding volunteers.

Hundreds of volunteers were nominated by clubs, leagues and county cricket boards nationwide and the final shortlist has been chosen by a panel of representatives from the ECB, British Gymnastics, RFU and NatWest.

NatWest OSCAs 2015 nominees

Get the Game On

Mick Brown – Ashington Cricket Club, Northumberland

Stuart Clarke- Linden Park Cricket Club, Kent

Graeme Smith- North Yorkshire, South Durham Cricket League, Yorkshire

Heartbeat of the Club

Susan Derben- Taunton Cricket Club, Somerset

Jock Spry- Thorverton Cricket Club, Devon

Roger Lewis- Solihull Blossomfield, Warwickshire

Leagues and Boards

Stuart Lampitt – Worcestershire Cricket Board Junior Cricket Leagues and Cup Competition

Keith Robson- North East Premier League, Durham

Gary Stanley- West Sussex Invitation Cricket League and Sussex Cricket Board

Lifetime Achievers

Tom Boore- Gloucestershire Cricket Board

Bernard Ellis- Farnham Cricket Club, Essex

John Gurney- Sandy Cricket Club, Bedfordshire

NatWest Cricket Force

Jill Ainscough- Bedfordshire Cricket Club, Bedfordshire

Simon Wood- Brighton and Hove Crescent Cricket Club, Sussex

Jim Yorath- Turnham Green and Polytechnic Cricket Club, Middlesex

Officiating- Umpires & Scorers

John Golding – Berkshire Cricket Officials Association

Graeme Hall- Kent Association of Cricket Officials

Rob Smith- Yorkshire Cricket Board Association of Cricket Officials

Young Volunteer

Ashley Cartwright- Tibberton Cricket Club/ Shropshire County Cricket League

Harry Johnson- Ruddington and Clifton Village Cricket Club, Nottinghamshire

Adam Nichol- Ashington Cricket Club, Northumberland

Outstanding Contribution to Coaching

Steve Amison- Bredbury St Marks Cricket Club, Cheshire

Alan Hyatt- Kings Heath Cricket Club, Warwickshire

Patrick Tonks- Haxey Cricket Club, Lincolnshire

Coach of the Year

Edwin Lee- Ratby Cricket Club, Leicestershire

Phil Lewin- Abbots Langley Cricket Club, Hertfordshire

Saba Nasim- Wanstead Cricket Club, Essex

Young Coach of the Year

Matt Earl – Kettering Town Cricket Club, Northamptonshire

Joseph Martin- Lancashire

Adam Nichol- Northumberland

Other awards to be presented at the event: NatWest U19 Club T20, Club of the Year Outstanding Contribution to Disability Cricket

Matt Dwyer, ECB’s Director of Participation and Growth, said: “The NatWest OSCAs are a great way to recognise and reward the outstanding contributions volunteers make to grassroots cricket every year.

"Volunteers are the unsung heroes of the recreational game and our clubs, leagues and Boards all rely on the countless hours they give to the sport each year. Congratulations to all our nominees and we trust they enjoy a memorable day at Lord’s – the Home of Cricket next month.”

Lee Bailey NatWest Sponsorship Manager said: “The NatWest OSCAs is an important part of our cricket calendar as it encourages us all to stop, recognise and appreciate just some of the army of hardworking and dedicated volunteers who make cricket possible in their communities.

"This year’s winners are all truly remarkable and selfless people without whom grassroots cricket would not be the wonderful game that we all enjoy today.”