Saturday, October 1st, 2022


Brett D’Oliveira celebrated his first season as Worcestershire Club Captain by winning two awards when Worcestershire staged their End of Season Gala Dinner at New Road on Friday evening.

The all-rounder lifted the prestigious Dick Lygon Award, recognising achievements and contributions on and off the field.

He scored three centuries in the LV=Insurance County Championship and is regarded as the heartbeat of the team with his never-ending energy and enthusiasm.

D’Oliveira also retained the T20 Player of the Year Award for a second successive season after achieving career-best performances with bat and ball.

He struck 71 in the home win over Birmingham Bears and returned 4-20 in the triumph over Lancashire Lightning at New Road.

Fellow all-rounder Ed Barnard ended his spell at New Road by picking up three trophies.

He was voted the Worcestershire Supporters’ Association Player of the Year and Worcestershire Players’ Player of the Year, and in the LV=Insurance County Championship scored 895 runs and had a tally of 31 wickets.

Barnard also collected the Worcestershire Cricket Society Moment Of The Season Award for his unbeaten 163 versus Nottinghamshire at Trent Bridge against a top-quality attack which included England pace bowler Stuart Broad.

The Kenyon Award for the best match performance during the 2022 season went to Ed Pollock for his match-winning 113 off 77 balls on a difficult pitch against Middlesex at Merchant Taylor’s School in the LV=Insurance County Championship.

Ben Cox was voted the Worcestershire Fans’ Forum Fielder of the Year for his consistent performances behind the stumps.

Women’s Rapids Ellie Anderson & A Plan Insurance’s Oliver Brown

Batter Rehaan Edavalath was chosen as the Worcestershire Academy Player of the Year.

He scored 233, spanning nearly eight hours against Somerset at Taunton Vale in the ECB Under-18 County Championship, plus two hundreds for the Seconds versus the South Asian Cricket Academy and Gloucestershire.

The Worcestershire Women’s Rapids Player of the Year was Clare Boycott, who reached 200 appearances for the County during the campaign.

She made significant contributions with bat and ball as the Rapids won the ECB T20 County Cup Group Two and finished runners-up in the West Midlands Regional Cup.

Ellie Anderson was the Women’s Rapids Young Player of the Year, and in the final of the ECB T20 County Cup, her 3-20 was a crucial contribution.

Award Winners in Full:

The Dick Lygon Award Brett D’Oliveira
T20 Player of the Year Brett D’Oliveira
The Kenyon Award Ed Pollock
Players’ Player of the Year Ed Barnard
Women’s Player of the Year Clare Boycott
Women’s Young Player of the Year Ellie Anderson
Academy Player of the Year Rehaan Edavalath
The David Exall Award John Curtis
Supporters Association Award Ed Barnard
Cricket Society’s Moment of the Year Ed Barnard
Fans Forum Fielder of the Year Ben Cox