Thursday, July 20th, 2017

Dell Denied Century After Seconds Collapse At Abergavenny

Dell Denied Century After Seconds Collapse At Abergavenny

Josh Dell finished five runs short of a deserved century as a dramatic collapse by Worcestershire Seconds led to them suffering a seven wicket defeat in their three-day friendly with Glamorgan Seconds at Abergavenny.

Glamorgan were bowled out for 432 in their first innings after resuming on the final day on 345-5 to give them a lead of 164.

Worcestershire appeared to be comfortably heading towards a draw as Dell and Alex Hepburn added 122 for the third wicket in 24 overs.

Hepburn, who rejoined the squad after being on NatWest T20 Blast duty against Derbyshire Falcons last night, was eventually out for 55 off 75 balls with nine fours.

But the visitors had reached 184-3 when seven wickets fell for 12 runs in 7.4 overs.

Six successive batsmen registered ducks and it was off-spinner Kieran Bull who did the damage with 5-5 in four overs after tea.

It left Dell unbeaten on 95 from 135 balls with 12 fours as he added to his 70 in the first innings.

Worcestershire were bowled out for 196 to leave Glamorgan a 33 target and they lost three wickets – two of them to Zen Malik – in reaching their target.

When Glamorgan resumed in their first innings, Jack Murphy moved from his overnight 96 not out to 155 while paceman George Scrimshaw picked up three wickets.


Glamorgan Seconds – first innings continued

(overnight 345-5)

Jack Murphy c and b Z Malik155 

Tom Cullen+ b GLS Scrimshaw 25

Ruadhri Smith lbw b GLS Scrimshaw 3

Lukas Carey c Z Malik b GLS Scrimshaw 1

Kieran Bull st AG Milton b BJ Twohig 4

Kazimir Szymanski not out 0

Extras 14

Total (all out) 432

FOW continued: 399, 407, 417, 422, 432

Bowling Charlie Morris 25-5-59-0

Dillon Pennington 17-1-85-0

Ben Twohig 15-0-77-1

Alex Hepburn 15-4-48-2

George Scrimshaw 14-1-69-3

Ryan Wheldon 2-0-12-0

Zen Malik 15.3-4-55-4

Ollie Westbury 5-0-20-0


Worcestershire Seconds – second innings

Ollie Westbury c J Lawlor b LJ Carey 10

Tom Fell lbw b LJ Carey 22

Josh Dell not out 95

Alex Hepburn lbw b K Szymanski 55

Alex Milton+ b K Szymanski 7

Zen Malik b KA Bull 0

Jack Haynes lbw b KA Bull 0

Ben Twohig c R Smith b KA Bull 0

Dillon Pennington b KA Bull 0

Charlie Morris* c O Morgan b KA Bull 0

George Scrimshaw run out (K Szymanski) 0

Extras 7

Total (all out) 196


Lukas Carey 10.3-2-36-2

Ruadhri Smith 10-2-42-0

Kieran Bull 15-1-61-5

Owen Morgan 5-0-18-0

Neil Brand 4-0-18-0

Kazimir Szymanski 6-0-14-2

—- Glamorgan Seconds – second innings

Nick Selman c OE Westbury b BJ Twohig 19

Connor Brown st AG Milton b Z Malik 7

Jack Murphy lbw Z Malik 0

Neil Brand* not out 5

Jeremy Lawlor not out 2

Extras 0

Total (for 3 wickets) 33

FOW 26, 26, 26


Morris 2-0-13-0

Malik 3-1-13-2

Twohig 1.4-1-7-1