Monday, June 18th, 2018

Crop Of Young County Talent To Make Debut Versus West Indies A

a crop of young worcestershire ccc talent will make their list a debut for the county in tomorrow’s 50 over tour game with west indies a at New Road which is included in all worcestershire ccc membership packages.

the potential stars of the future in jack haynes, ollie westbury, alex milton, josh dell, ben twohig, zain ul-hassan and mitchell spencer will wear the worcestershire colours in list a cricket for the first time.

for all of them, excluding ben twohig, it will be their first senior appearance for worcestershire in any form of cricket.

all-rounder twohig has, of course, made his specsavers county championship breakthrough this campaign and played against surrey at the kia oval and essex at New Road.

it will be haynes and dell’s first appearance for worcestershire since signing their first professional contracts (see separate story).

keeper-batsman alex milton returns to the county from skippering cardiff mccu this summer in excellent form after back to back centuries at the weekend.

he scored 131 off 116 balls with two sixes and 18 fours for port talbot in a south wales premier league division one fixture with st. fagan’s.

milton finished on the losing side as port talbot, chasing a 291 target, were bowled out for 278 with no-one else topping 20.

then the following day he smashed 139 for old malvernians in a cricketer cup triumph over dulwich college.

george rhodes, ross whiteley and dillon pennington of the rapids side narrowly beaten by kent in the royal london one-day cup semi-final are also included.

west indies a are preparing for their tri-series against england lions and india a. in their previous fixture on sunday they were beaten by warwickshire at edgbaston.

the opening tri-series game is against the lions at the 3aaa county ground, derby on saturday (june 23).

worcestershire ccc

jack haynes

ollie westbury ©

george rhodes

tom fell

ross whiteley

alex milton (w)

josh dell

ben twohig

zain ul-hassan

dillon pennington

mitchell spencer