Tuesday, May 21st, 2019


Moeen Ali has been named in England’s squad for the 2019 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup which gets underway at the end of May.

England National Cricket Selectors have finalised their 15 strong party for the tournament and announced it this morning.

Worcestershire all-rounder Moeen can now look forward to his second World Cup.

He was part of the 2015 squad and has been an established and integral part of the group which has risen to number one in the world rankings.

The World Cup squad has three changes from the preliminary squad, which was announced last month.

Sussex’s Jofra Archer is called up after his debut in the Royal London ODI series against Pakistan.

The 24-year-old fast bowler played two matches in England’s four-nil series victory over the past month.

Hampshire’s Liam Dawson returns to the England set-up for the first time since sustaining a side strain during October’s limited-overs tour of Sri Lanka.

The 29-year-old left-arm spin-bowling all-rounder has been in fine form for his county, claiming 18 wickets and averaging 45 with the bat during Hampshire’s run to the Royal London One-Day Cup final.

James Vince, the classy Hampshire top-order batsman, is also included having played his part during the Royal London ODI series against Pakistan.

The 28-year-old will be looking to add to his 10 caps during the tournament.

From the preliminary squad that was announced last month, Kent’s Joe Denly and Yorkshire’s David Willey miss out on selection.

The squad will report to the Ageas Bowl, Southampton on Friday ahead of the warm-up fixture against Australia on Saturday.

England 15-man ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Squad

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) Captain

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

Jofra Archer (Sussex)

Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)

Jos Buttler (Lancashire)

Tom Curran (Surrey)

Liam Dawson (Hampshire)

Liam Plunkett (Surrey)

Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)

Joe Root (Yorkshire)

Jason Roy (Surrey)

Ben Stokes (Durham)

James Vince (Hampshire)

Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

Mark Wood (Durham)

England’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Warm-Up Fixtures:May 25

England v Australia
Hampshire Bowl, Southampton
10:30am (BST)
May 27
England v Afghanistan
The Oval, London
10:30am (BST)

England’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Fixtures:
Match 1 – May 30
England v South Africa
The Oval, London
10:30am (BST)

Match 2 – June 3
England v Pakistan
Trent Bridge, Nottingham
10:30am (BST)

Match 3 – June 8
England v Bangladesh
Cardiff Wales Stadium, Cardiff
10:30am (BST)

Match 4 – June 14
England v West Indies
Hampshire Bowl, Southampton
10:30am (BST)

Match 5 – June 18
England v Afghanistan
Old Trafford, Manchester
10:30am (BST)

Match 6 – June 21
England v Sri Lanka
Headingley, Leeds
10:30am (BST)

Match 7 – June 25
England v Australia
Lord’s, London
10:30am (BST)

Match 8 – June 30
England v India
Edgbaston, Birmingham
10:30am (BST)

Match 9 – July 3
England v New Zealand
The Riverside Durham, Chester-le-Street
10:30am (BST)

Semi Finals – July 9 and 11

World Cup Final – July 14