Saturday, April 12th, 2014

County Name Unchanged Squad For Kent Fixture

County Name Unchanged Squad For Kent Fixture

WORCESTERSHIRE have named an unchanged squad for the opening home LV County Championship match with Kent at New Road starting on Sunday.

The county had originally anticipated overseas player Saeed Ajmal being available this Sunday for the four-day clash with Kent at New Road.

But Worcestershire have had to wait to receive the No Objection Certificate (NOC) from the Pakistan Cricket Board which will clear Ajmal to play for the County.

Worcestershire chief executive David Leatherdale said: “It is hugely disappointing not to have Saeed here when expected after agreeing his arrival many months ago.

"But you have to get the NOC before he is physically available to play. You are probably only talking about a few days but we are in the hands of the Pakistan Cricket Board who control his commitments, but it is disappointing not to have him here when we had originally hoped.

With Worcestershire not in action during the third round of LV County Championship matches starting on April 20, it is anticipated Ajmal will arrive in this country sometime next week ahead of the Derbyshire match starting on the 27th April.

Director of Cricket Steve Rhodes has kept faith with the players who impressed during the rain-hit draw at Hampshire earlier this week.

Spinner Shaaiq Choudhry, who was 12th man at the Ageas Bowl, is included along with the 11 players who secured a healthy 12 points return from the Division Two fixture.

Rhodes stated after the game that Worcestershire should take a “lot of confidence” from their performance against one of the pre-season promotion favourites.

Skipper Daryl Mitchell will be looking to continue the form which saw him score a magnificent unbeaten 172 at the Ageas Bowl.

But there were plenty of other encouraging performances in securing three bowling points, four batting points and five points for a draw.

Worcestershire (from): Mitchell (captain), Pardoe, Moeen Ali, Kervezee, Kohler-Cadmore, Whiteley, Cox (wicket-keeper), Andrew, Morris, Russell, Shantry, Choudhry.