Wednesday, March 1st, 2017

Clarke Named In Lions Team For One-Day Opener In Sri Lanka

Clarke Named In Lions Team For One-Day Opener In Sri Lanka

Worcestershire batsman Joe Clarke and Somerset paceman Craig Overton are relishing the chance to impress for England Lions when the one-day series against Sri Lanka A begins in Dambulla on Thursday.

They were the only two members of the 15-man squad for the two four-day matches not to get a game in Kandy or Dambulla.

But Lions head coach Andy Flower confirmed after a rain-abridged white-ball practice session on Wednesday that both will play in the 50-over opener.

Clarke will play as a specialist batsman at number four with Ben Foakes keeping wicket.

The 20-year-old picked up six catches and a stumping in the warm-up match against a President's X1 when Foakes was injured and scored 10 in both innings.

Overton will feature in a seam attack which is missing Tom Curran, after his call to join the senior England squad in the West Indies as cover for Jake Ball.

But it now has Toby Roland-Jones adding to the competition for places with James Fuller, Tom Helm and Sam Curran, after the Middlesex all-rounder was called into the one-day squad.

Keaton Jennings will continue as captain and is set to open with Ben Duckett, who is one of five new arrivals for the one-day section of the tour with his Northamptonshire club-mate Graeme White, Fuller, the Warwickshire leg-spinner Josh Poysden and Kent opener Daniel Bell-Drummond.

The five-match series continues in Dambulla on Saturday with the third game in Kurunegala next Monday before the last two matches in Colombo – although they will not now be played at the Premadasa Stadium, with the alternative venue still to be confirmed.

Lions one-day squad: K Jennings (Durham, captain), B Duckett (Northants), D Bell-Drummond (Kent), T Alsop (Hampshire), J Clarke (Worcestershire), L Livingstone (Lancashire), B Foakes (Surrey), S Curran (Surrey), T Roland-Jones (Middlesex), C Overton (Somerset), T Helm (Middlesex), J Fuller (Middlesex), O Rayner (Middlesex), J Poysden (Warwickshire), G White (Northants).